1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie Needs Help on Ripping a Secure DVD

Discussion in 'Convert DVD to another format' started by Adrian8, Jan 8, 2007.

1. Adrian8

Adrian8 Member

I'm new to the world of DVD ripping so please excuse my very basic question. I'm hoping that someone can tell me if there is a DVD solution that is similar to the audio solution that I am more familiar with. I want to be able to rip a "perfect" (bit-by-bit replica) copy of my DVDs to my hard drive and save it there in both a "lossless" and a "lossy" format - the first so I know I have an archived copy that is as good as the original and that I can later manipulate (edit,burn etc); the latter that I can watch on my PC, iPod Video player etc.

This is a preamble to asking if there is,
    1. A "secure" DVD ripping solution (like EAC does for ripping audio),
    2. A "lossless compression" DVD solution (like Monkey's Audio does for audio compression), and
    3. A "lossy" DVD encoding solution (like LAME does for audio encoding)?

I've read through a lot of the forum suggestions on applications like dvdshrink, AnyDVD, Nero etc but I can't seem to find if these are "secure", "lossless" etc.

Thanks in advance for any help you might be able to provide.

PS. I don't need freeware.

2. Dunker

Dunker Regular member

If you mean by "secure" something that rips it perfectly, then AnyDVD and DVD-FAB decrypter can do almost-perfect rips (they do remove CSS, Prohibited User Operations, Macrovision, etc., so they are not quite perfect, but you can opt not to remove these if desired.) The quality will be unchanged, so there is no harm in removing all that undesirable stuff.

There is no "lossless compress" like there is with audio. DVD format itself (the VOB subset of MPEG-2) is lossy itself. If you want to retain the quality of the original, you cannot compress at all.