1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie needs Torrent help

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by bbiagllla, Mar 19, 2005.

  1. bbiagllla

    bbiagllla Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I downloaded Azerus. When i try to download a torrent the face stays red and it says unable to connect to peers no matter what i do i get this message. Someone help me and push me in the right direction. Torrents are a little difficult. I tried to transfer ports but i have a microsoft broadband wireless router. Any ideas on how to open ports and such.
     
  2. Mr_Taz_UK

    Mr_Taz_UK Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Can you give me the model number of your router, and i'll see what i can find.

    you could also try www.portforward.com

    Also, try and avoid using the following ports in your client (azureus)

    Direct Connect 411 - 413
    Kazaa 1214
    eDonkey 4662
    Gnutella 6346 - 6347
    WinMX 6699
    BitTorrent 6881 - 6889

    These ports are often blocked by trackers and sometimes throttled by ISP's

    I recommend using a group of approx 10 ports (ish, one for each torrent) in the range 49152 through 65535, don’t forget your port forwarding (router config) else torrent tracker may well reject your connection request. Some will also block you if you are using ports in the banned / restricted bandwidth range.

     
  3. bbthumper

    bbthumper Guest

  4. bbiagllla

    bbiagllla Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i am using mn-700 base station. i went to that website. The only thing that confused me was port triggering. What do i use for outbound port. what do i use for inbound port(s).

    ===================================================
    Ok i got the face to stay yellow. When i mouse over it it says "Means that tracker is ok, your connected to peers, but you dont have any remote connection". Well now the face is green and it says everything is ok.

    Someone tell me what happened and what remote connection is.
    =================================================

    i can only download one at a time. why
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2005
  5. Mr_Taz_UK

    Mr_Taz_UK Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    26
    local connection = initiated by you
    remote connection = initiated by someone else.

    what port are you using in Azureus?

    tools\options\connection\incoming tcp listen port

    you dont need to touch port triggering, just port forwarding. Choose a port outside the ranges I showed you earlier and forward that port from the router to you local machines ip address.

    instructions here:

    http://www.portforward.com/microsoft/mn-700-portforwarding.htm

    good luck


    check you queue settings in Azureus
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2005
  6. bbiagllla

    bbiagllla Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    port 6881 is the listening port. you say choose a port outside what you showed me earlier. What port should i choose to forward to.
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2005
  7. Mr_Taz_UK

    Mr_Taz_UK Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    26
    any port that does not sit in those ranges, perhaps choose a port above 49150 and set it in your client (azureus or whichever you choose to use) and forward the same port on your router.

    eg

    incoming port range 49152 to 49152
    private port range 49152 to 49152
    private ip address = ip address of your PC

    also open the following range
    incoming port range 6881 to 6890
    private port range 6881 - 6890
    private ip address = ip address of your PC

    as fowarding the default ports will improve your DL speeds. However as your client is not using a port in the range, trackers are less likely to block you.

    hope this helps
     
  8. bbiagllla

    bbiagllla Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok i opened this

    incoming port range 49152 to 49162
    private port range 49152 to 49162
    private ip address = ip address of your PC

    one for tcp and one for udp
    ========================================================
    incoming port range 6881 to 6890
    private port range 6881 - 6890
    private ip address = ip address of your PC

    This one i already had opened when i was getting 40 kb/s max. When i did what you said it went down to 10 kb/s max.
    ========================================================

    Do i have to go in my firewall settings and add port 41952 through 41962 for both udp and tcp. I did this for 6881-6890.
     
  9. Mr_Taz_UK

    Mr_Taz_UK Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    26
    What is your total connection speed capability?

    Bear in mind that you have just changed your port and it may take a little while for the tracker to up date all those that were connected to you. Should improve, give it time.

    Are you sure you got your local IP address right?
    (not calling you stupid but if you have more than 1 PC on your network DHCP could have changed it)
     
  10. bbiagllla

    bbiagllla Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    What is your total connection speed capability?

    how do i find it.

    --------------------------------------------------------
    Are you sure you got your local IP address right?
    (not calling you stupid but if you have more than 1 PC on your network DHCP could have changed it) i have two comps
    on my network. i used the cmd under run and typed in ipconfig/all. thats how i got the ip adress
     
  11. Mr_Taz_UK

    Mr_Taz_UK Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    26

Share This Page