1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie question-can I still use IPrep to flash my Xbox (benq) drive?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by wheelstb, Sep 20, 2011.

  1. wheelstb

    wheelstb Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I flashed my Xbox once before with iextreme 1.4 firmware. I've been doing some reading on the different methods of flashing and the different firmware available. Would I still be able to use the old iprep method to flash my Xbox with the new firmware? Previously I used iprep and went through several command prompts.

    I have read a lot and seeing a lot of videos where people are using connectivity kits can I still use the PCI card and sata cord that I had used before?
    Also, is there anything I need to do different flashing my Xbox for the second time? I tried it briefly once before, a few weeks ago and I was not able to do it successfully.
     
  2. tardisk9

    tardisk9 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You will need to let us know what drive you have for more info, majority of drives differ.

    Jungle flasher > iPrep
     
  3. wheelstb

    wheelstb Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i have an older benq
     
  4. tardisk9

    tardisk9 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ah yeah, I see you have mentioned it in you title, my bad.

    Yeah, use JungleFlasher (from jungleflasher.net), it comes complete with a step by step guide in PDF format. You can still use your via 6421a & sata lead to flash it.
     
  5. wheelstb

    wheelstb Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    So I can still use the same method of connecting the computer to the Xbox? I simply have to use a different method to load the firmware onto the Xbox?

    I use a power wheelchair and it is rather difficult for me to get everything I need to connect in the right position, I know most people use firmware flashing but can I install a mod chip that way would be a one and done kind of thing?


    Are there any mod chips that are upgradable via CD or DVD?
    Thanks for all the help.
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2011
  6. Modking30

    Modking30 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    The only way to flash it is by pulling the drive. I would advise to invest in an xtractor so you don't use the xbox to power the drive. You have to power cycle the drive and the only way to do it is by unplugging the power to the drive when you use the 360. You are going to need to update at least twice a year so it comes in handy. As stated follow the guide.
     
  7. wheelstb

    wheelstb Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I think I remember reading about a USB device that would allow you to play burned Xbox games. I was thinking I could flashed my Xbox this time and then that USB device would come out in your future. Is it looking like the USB device is going to be reliable?
     
  8. tardisk9

    tardisk9 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I think your getting mixed up with the xkey 360, this allows you to play ISOs from a memory stick
     
  9. wheelstb

    wheelstb Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I think you may be correct, I think I was a little bit confused. But as I understand it better device is not going to be available for a while. So, I will need the flash my Xbox for the time being. I have been away for the Xbox scene for a while and I am a little bit confused on which firmware I need. I have an original model benq fat version Xbox. Can someone point me in the right direction?
     
  10. tardisk9

    tardisk9 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I think the pre orders of the xkey are shipping this month. This will however be redundant once a dash get released for the glitch hack

    Re. firmware, you will need LT+ 1.91.
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2011
  11. wheelstb

    wheelstb Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    what is dash and the glitch hack?
    Thanks for all the help!
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2011
  12. tardisk9

    tardisk9 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The glitch hack has been recently discovered, it is a exploit which allows you to run unsigned code with your xbox. Its very much like a JTAG. We cannot use this exploit for running games off your hardrive yet because we are waiting for a dashboard to be released. This should be very soon :D
     
  13. HomerV

    HomerV Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You can still use Iprep to flash to a BenQ if you want. You can't use Iprep to convert your firmware to the lastest crack though. I myself personally use iprep for flashing or extracting but I use Jungleflasher to prepare the firmware. I know some people says that's just more steps but I just prefer the DOS interface.
     
  14. wheelstb

    wheelstb Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    My Xbox has not nor will it ever be connected to the Internet. Is there any way that I can install the latest dashboard, as required by jungle flasher onto my Xbox without going through the hassle of connecting to the Internet? This would be very difficult for me to do.
     
  15. wheelstb

    wheelstb Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    nerver mind. got it.
     
  16. wheelstb

    wheelstb Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Do you absolutely have to update the dashboard before you flash. I have tried and tried and I am unable to update the dashboard via USB or CD. I have the case in the face plate removed so that I can flash it easily.

    I know that when you go to update the dashboard and you need to press the reset button once you have inserted the flash drive or CD.

    I'm having trouble getting the faceplate in the right position to use the button to trigger a reset.

    Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
     

Share This Page