1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Night photos

Discussion in 'Digital photography' started by pclemmit, Sep 3, 2004.

1. pclemmit

pclemmit Guest

Hi and thanks for reading.

I would describe my self as an intermediate digital photographer, I have taken some fantastic stills with my Minolta 4Mp camera. However during a recent trip to Turkey I found my self wanting to take more and more night photos, however a problem soon presented its self.

When a shot was taken on the instant playback it was just a mass of blurred lights streaked accross the screen, I soon worked out that the shutter takes longer to close in the dark and I was moving it to fast leading to the streaks. It is like the photos seen on a road photo (at night) with just the trail of moving head and tail lights. Despite trying to manually correct shutter speed and various other features I was not unable to, mainly due to the fact a hard crack was received from my girlfriend for playing with it too often. Was I heading in the right direction??

Any one with any advice or reasons on the problem I experienced would be greatly received.

Many thanks

2. omronguru

omronguru Guest

You have the right idea, not really au-fait with this model, Does it have a setting marked B or Bulb? this will keep the shutter open as long as the button is pressed.