1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nintendo Wii Lan.

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by SporkNin, Jan 25, 2007.

  1. SporkNin

    SporkNin Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  2. tabletpc

    tabletpc Guest

    why do people keep wanted the stupid wii lan adapter

    it causes more problems then what it is worth

    i have seen so many

    help with lan adapter

    posts on nintendo's web page

    thhe lan adapter all thouugh works has problems that need to be fix with a firmware update
     
  3. DavGerm4

    DavGerm4 Active member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,409
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    They may want the LAN adapter, if they don't have wireless in their Home! Some people don't have Wireless, and have to go with LAN to connect to the internet.
     
  4. tabletpc

    tabletpc Guest

    i relize that but you can purchase a router for 50.00 so why worry about spending 60 for a lan adapter
     
  5. SporkNin

    SporkNin Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The problem here is. My college network is complex. We have to register our computer and consoles mac addresses to gain access to the internet. If we don't we stuck behind our college's firewall/proxy. The wierd thing is I never really registered my computer, since I'm using my router. One the site, the only mac address in use/allowed in our room number is my router mac address... I don't know if even lan-ing my wii will work. I'll have to find out soon, but can't call them since the help desk is closed til monday...

    Also, about the router, I'd rather be wired. That's always a constant speed. Although my dorm ain't that big, so I'd be fine. My complaint is too when I take my "wii" home for our long 3-4 day weekends. Now this router I had for 2 years... so I didn't impulse buy it for a Wii

    Also, all I wanted to know is that would those work?
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2007
  6. DavGerm4

    DavGerm4 Active member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,409
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I hear you man! My friends on Campus, have the same problem with the University Server! We have to register an IP Address if we want to play online or anything like that! I think it's just stupid... But hey, what do I know...
     
  7. xhardc0re

    xhardc0re Guest

    Anyone know how the Wii online service would handle multiple systems on one I-net connection? I'm guessing it would use a simple network setup where the Gateway has a single IP address & each system would have its own IP address that varies by the final set of digits.
     
  8. AE27

    AE27 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  9. carbon14

    carbon14 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    SporkNin, I think any of those adapters would work.

    I don't see the benefit of buying the Datek one that uses the Wii logo. Adapters are adapters: stupid converters. They don't care if you're using a Wii to convert from USB 2.0 to an ethernet port, or connecting a network printer. The conversion is in the hardware, and as far as I know, they are all pretty much the same, except maybe in terms of quality or construction. Function should all be the same.

    Can anyone support or disprove my argument?
     
  10. dazila

    dazila Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You are wrong the Wii only recongnizes the "WII usb-Ethernet" none other because the Wii does not recognize anything on the USB ports unless the thing (This is currently if they were to add USB mass storage support other thigns would work too) But due tio piracy issues they dont so the USB component needs to have a built in recongnition system so when plugged in it tells the Wii to detect and use the component but if you plug in another USB-EThernet it dosent have that certain how would i call it,its more of a Digital Signature built into the thing unless they supply you with a disc just like the Ps2 USB's the usb knows the product is there but wont operate it till something tells it to do it like a verification that its Sony approved Like Flashdrives they run with GT4 as Gt4 has the verification system in this case its nintendo.
     
  11. xhardc0re

    xhardc0re Guest

    The same problem happens with new PS2 slim consoles. Sony redesigned their USB software & now you can't use a Codebreaker with a USB plug anymore. However, you can use an Action Replay Max with USB plug. That way you can transfer save files & codes with your plug-in USB memory. I use a Lexar 128mb myself.
    So it's a software issue; CB uses one version of driver & the AR Max uses another. The Wii may or may not be designed to have special drivers.

    As long as your USB to Ethernet adapter uses the right driver, it will work with the Wii. Give it a try! Post your results so we know if Nintendo is using a universal driver or a special driver that only a few companies have access too. Keep in mind that even if we knew which driver, the hardware needs to have that driver built-in (firmware). Unless you could find a USB to Ethernet adapter with flashable firmware, there is no way you're getting around anything Nintendo may have done (to lock us out).
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 28, 2007
  12. dazila

    dazila Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You cant?
    I have a V14 slim scph-75002 one of 3 of my ps2's and I transfer saves using ar max to my usb always to save room and to post on gamefaqqs and it works.?
     
  13. SporkNin

    SporkNin Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Well damn, guess I'll wait til I find them cheaper. Since I technically don't need one til wiiconnect24 is running with ssbb is out.
     
  14. xhardc0re

    xhardc0re Guest

    @dazila: There is a thread over at the Codebreaker website about this issue w/USB pendrive/plugs not working. Link
    @SporkNin: If you know of a Gamestop/EB that has that Datel usb-lan adapter, buy it & try. But if you spend $$ for shipping to find it won't work on your college Net, you'll be disappointed. And have to pay for return shipping unless they let you return it local.
     
  15. J0hnnyga

    J0hnnyga Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i dono if this will help any of you guys at all but my college network does the same type of thing. they make you set up a single computer but my friend showed me that if you connect the comp to your router and the router to the Ethernet jack and just leave it there for like 20mins it will fool the network into thinking that the router is your computer. that works at the university of Maryland at least hope this was helpfull
     
  16. SporkNin

    SporkNin Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yea my college network does the same. On the schools firewall site. My router's mac address is only listed. And every( 1 desktop and 2 laptops) are listed as using the same ip via cmd>ipconfig.....

    I just need to get my cell phone working inorder to call the schools helpdesk and see why it's not taking my Wii's Wifi Mac address...
     

Share This Page