1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

no name of cpu?

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by comprun, Oct 15, 2004.

  1. comprun

    comprun Guest

    in control panel,under sytem it doesnt say the name of my cpu it shows a bunch werid letters i was jus wondering if anybody knoes why.. It shouwd say amd athlon 2800+ but it dont it shows some weeird letter and shapes
     
  2. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Sounds like you may have to remove the CPU and re-seat it in the socket....................

    What does it display it as if you go into your BIOS?

    Press del or F1 or F2 to view the BIOS
     
  3. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,094
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    check your cmos setting as it is either wrong or the bios needs to be updated to read it properly
     
  4. comprun

    comprun Guest

    ok im new at this........how do check the cmos setting
     
  5. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,094
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    i presume your computer is a clone not a name brand. as baabaa said above hit the DEL button when it shows up on the post screen(black & white screen).go to the cpu settings section(check manual for proper section as different motherboard manufactures do it differently).CPU speed is cpu bus speed times the multipler(ex. 133x16=2128 or 133x21=2800). try the 133x16 setting first & see what the computer posts at. i have a saying & this is not meant as an insult R.T.F.M.D.(Read The F***ing Manual Dummy).always read your manual first before you do something hardwarewise to your computer.if in doubt ASK.
     
  6. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    If that was the case, wouldnt it be more reasoanable to expect that the system wouldnt boot up? :)

    And as i said on the other thread --- RTFFR -- read the fusking forum rules. One more case of this and you're a gonner.

    comprun
    1. Grab CPUz (http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php#download)
    2. Run it and it will give you the basic outline of information of your system :)
     
  7. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    BWAHAHHAAHAH! that's my ddp :D
     
  8. pulsar

    pulsar Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    So near & yet so far.....
     
  9. wdowsing

    wdowsing Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    *edit*

     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2006

Share This Page