1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

no PS2 menu at start; what's wrong?

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by davidrc1, Jan 23, 2007.

  1. davidrc1

    davidrc1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi Guys!!

    I just hope it's there not in software threat!

    I have a old PS2 SCH-30004 PAL (france); my lens seemed out of life, (no more reading something) but got PS2 menu: clock, settings etc), on tv screen.

    I bought an KHS-400B (same as original) on my ps2; I installed it properly, checked every leads cables and pluged the console.

    fan runs, light: red, then green (no blink) and solid blue for cd opening button; slide cd works fines; no noises.

    so now, this my problems: I have no more PS2 menu (no disk in the ps2) nothing on screen; checked rvb cables, used somes of other ps2, same thing.
    also, no lens movements, nothing moves inside the cd reader;

    Certainly I made a mistake, so I would be really happy to get some help there;

    Thank you in advance,
    Best regards,
    David.
     
  2. ps2modgod

    ps2modgod Guest

    Does the tray eject? Does the blue LED on the eject button come on?
     
  3. davidrc1

    davidrc1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hello,

    yes tray works fine;

    blue is solid and no worries at that point; checked all wires inside the ps2 and tv cables (tested with another ps2 cables) same result, no menu, no launch, nothing.

    funny trouble!!
     
  4. davidrc1

    davidrc1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hello!!!!


    is anyone got my problem????????

    it's strange!!!!!!! please it will be cool to get an answer;

    bye,
    david.
     
  5. ps2modgod

    ps2modgod Guest

    Check your fuses, PS1 may be blown.
     
  6. davidrc1

    davidrc1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hello,

    I checked the ceramic fuse 2amps (white) it works fine, I tested it, so no problem on this one; is there a fuse somewhere else?

    what will be the others problems possibilities? (the most common, at your own).

    thank you!!
    david
     
  7. davidrc1

    davidrc1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I removed the cover (the big plastic part with PS2 logo).
    removed the plastic part of the tray; now I can see the disk; when I switch on the power, then the reset button, the cd runs 1/8 of the total rotation and stop; no more action, nothing more;
    thanks for your future helps guys!!!
     
  8. davidrc1

    davidrc1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hello!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    anybody can HELP??????

    is it THE problem that it's impossible to solve??

    I'm surprised to see how good answers I found on this forum, and cannot find someone who can help me............


    thanks in advance!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  9. raiderj

    raiderj Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If the fuses check out, you might try removing the optical drive and seeing if things power on properly that way. If not, your motherboard probably has issues elsewhere that wouldn't be worth trying to diagnose and fix.

    Maybe it's time for a new slimline?
     
  10. tsukia

    tsukia Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  11. vcbc

    vcbc Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,080
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Strange problem. Yes a fuse could of killed the A/V The fuses on the motherboard are marked with PSxx X is some numbers. The fuses are tiny on the system.
    good luck
     
  12. davidrc1

    davidrc1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hello,

    yes we seem to get the same problem;

    the fuse close to the A/C plug, white, is working I tested it. Is there an another fuse somewhere? if a fuse broken may the PS2 working normally, like it does? I mean red light, then blue solid, green can open it, close it;

    to answer at raiderj, I have a slimline, but I would like to try to fix my problem, just to learn something new;
    thanks to anyone; hope to finally find my problem!!!

    david.
     
  13. vcbc

    vcbc Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,080
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    If u look closly on the motherboard, you will see numbers writen on them like PS1, PS5, PS15... they dont always go in order sometimes the numbers skip. Those are fuses, mostly are tiny. When fuses are blown they cause all sorts of things. The white one near the A/C will cause the system to not have power (no standby) but other ones cause PS2 to turn on 1 sec later it goes back in standby. No audio/video, Not turn on, tray wont eject.....
     

Share This Page