1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

No solder mod chip

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by peasnall, Aug 17, 2004.

  1. peasnall

    peasnall Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi i ordered a magic 3.1 and my dad installed it which never worked we got a blue screen ANYWAY i have ordered swap disks and NO SOlDER MODCHIP my question is:
    Will the no solder chip work with the swap disks as i carnt afford to keep buying mods (also my PS2 is V.4)

    i have ordered the V.4 one BTW.
     
  2. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    yeah, it will work, but you should have gotten a fliptop instead.
     
  3. peasnall

    peasnall Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    why is that mate
     
  4. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    the no solder chip has a tendancy to blow fuses in your ps2.
     
  5. peasnall

    peasnall Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    oh will it, wot is the % of it happenin
     
  6. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    i don't know, thats just what i heard.
     
  7. peasnall

    peasnall Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanx anyway mate
     
  8. Icemonkey

    Icemonkey Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I've worked with 2 PS2's with no-solder mods in them and they both eventually blew fuses so I guess that makes the fuse blow rate in my case 100% for me.
     
  9. peasnall

    peasnall Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanx how long will it take to BLOW a fuse, are they easy to REPLACE and can i reduse the RISK by turning/ removing the chip afteruse.

    thanx, james
     
  10. Icemonkey

    Icemonkey Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    One of them blew within a month and the other lasted 2 months. Fuses are pretty easy to replace if you can solder well and figure out which one blew. I never could figure out how to repair either of mine.
     
  11. peasnall

    peasnall Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanx i have just recieved my chip and swap disks i intalled the chip and tryed a game i bought on holiday which DID work on holiday. i got a red ish border. they say if this happens it means the disks wherent burnerd properly is this true and will it work for me in the end.
     
  12. Icemonkey

    Icemonkey Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I see you have a v4 PS2. What brand of media are you using? Only the top few brands such as Verbatim for example will work in those units. Ritek also seems to be a good choice as well.
     

Share This Page