1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

no solder PAL info

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by Leinad123, Nov 23, 2004.

1. Leinad123

Leinad123 Member

im a noob to the console backup scene, and am thinking of purchasing the PAL version of the no solder mod chip...http://www.modchipnow.com/product_info.php/cPath/24/products_id/89... i was wondering what other info i need to know before me trying to install this myself, and what it is and isnt compatible with.
    thanks

2. L-Burna

L-Burna Active member

I wouldn't recommend buying it.I have heard it can burn up your system.It isn't a very reliable modchip,since you have to use swap magic discs with it.If you are trying to get a modchip look at the DMS and Matrix Infinity products or you can do the no mod fliptop or slidecard method.I would recommend the fliptop since this is what I use.I also heard that there might be a better no solder modchip coming real soon from DMS4,but we will all have to wait and see.

3. Leinad123

Leinad123 Member

soldering really isnt the problem i can do that just fine its just that i dont really trust myself messing about inside my ps2, i'll have a look at the fliptop, ive heard good reports about it,

thx

4. Leinad123

Leinad123 Member

okay so does it just make a tmp file or something to trick the ps2 into thinking its an original? how hard to install is it?

5. L-Burna

L-Burna Active member

You just replace the top part of the ps2 with the modified top which has a lid to it.It isn't really hard to do trust me,if you do go with the fliptop watch out when opening the top of it though.It has a ribbon that connects to the reset/eject button that is connected to the top case,so I would say use caution when opening it up.It is also a good idea to tape the ribbon cable to the side of the PS2 when closing it also so it doesn't get pinched.It might sound complicated,but it really isn't.