1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

noob has trouble connecting pc to xbox

Discussion in 'Xbox - Backup discussion' started by tmontana1, Jan 30, 2005.

1. tmontana1

tmontana1 Member

hello everybody,im a total noobie and this is my first post so please bare with me.i have an xbox version 1.4 and i recenntly bought a 1.1 spider chip. i have flash xp and a crossover cable.when i try to connect my xbox to my pc im getting a error message saying "connect method failed,no connection could be made because the target machine actively refused it" can somebody tell me why this is happening and how to sort it.also what else do i need,ive read loads about dashboards and bios. i think the spiderchip has bios already installed on it but i might be wrong,i also have an xiso creater.can somebody please advise me what im doing wrong and tell mwe what to do next. also where does the dashbord come into the equation?

any comments would be much appreciated

thanks all

2. Ravoz

Ravoz Member

Use Flashfxp, then do this.

if your gonna connect the crossover cable to a router all you need to do is just ur xbox ip to '10.0.0.1' then just connect.

if your connecting directly to a network card this is what my settings look like

[​IMG]

3. Ravoz

Ravoz Member

even when you connect to ur network card make sure ur xbox ip is 10.0.0.1

4. tmontana1

tmontana1 Member

thanks for the reply but that is a bad link,when i go to the website,it says file missing.do you think im getting the error message because my IP address is wrong

5. Ravoz

Ravoz Member

ok dont worry about the picture ill just write it all up.

Go to network connections, right click on ur connection and click properties.

Once in there look for something that says " Internet Protocol TCP/IP" then click on properties.

Now, click on Use following ip address,

use these settings:

IP 10.0.0.2
    Subnetmask 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway 10.0.0.3