1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Noob with x2.3 lite v1 Needs help

Discussion in 'Xbox - Hardware boot discussion' started by wag317, Nov 21, 2004.

  1. wag317

    wag317 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok.. I got the chip installed, I boot up the xbox and it comes to a blue screen. Now I have seen this happen in other threads, but here's where mine is different. It doesn't ask for the cd with the bios on it.. I burned correctly, but it doesn't flash. Does anyone know what the problem is, it's 4am and I am ready to throw the xbox out the window. Also without the chip I get a call xbox support with a 16 in the top left corner. Could this be the root of my problem? Any help would be apreciated!!!
     
  2. wag317

    wag317 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    scratch the 2.3, I have a 2.6 sorry.
     
  3. djboogie

    djboogie Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    what media are you using for the bios disc?
    (use a cdrw)
    it might look weird, but I find setting the bios disc up like this works well
    aaa.zip (dummy file around 80mb)
    BIOS.BIN (correct bios type, dont use a 1.6 bios
    unless your xbox IS a 1.6)
    zzz.zip (dummy file around 80mb)

    make sure the bios is simply called BIOS (you dont have to type .bin as it knows its a bin file, just rename it to BIOS) also make sure you just burn it as a data disc, not a xbox iso.
    Also make sure the center switch of your x2.6 chip is set to "unprotect" (red LED)
    regarding the error , error 16 is a dashboard error, is it a standard retail xbox hdd? or one you replaced?
    Let me know how you go re- the flash disc
     
  4. wag317

    wag317 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    the disc is a verbatium cd-rw. I am using the x2_4983.06_256k bios. The original hd is shot. I bought it with the error 16 already there. I am putting a 120gb drive in there. As for the dummy file, you are suggesting that I just make zip files instead? The center switch is set to off. I will tell you how it goes after I get off of work. I hope it works.

    I should tell you that the FlashBIOS screen doesn't even ask for the disc.
     
  5. wag317

    wag317 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Nothing happend.. It didn't ask for a disc. here's what's on the screen

    FlashBIOS 2.6.0
    for help go to teamxecuter

    ata 43bit lba supported
    HDD
    DVD


    Load BIOS from disc
    Load BIOS from HDD(c:\BIOS\)
    Unlock HDD
    Lock HDD

    That's all that's there. Any suggestions?
     
  6. wag317

    wag317 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    OK.. I fixed it.. turns out I needed the xbox BIG controller because the bios wasn't recognizing the usb controller
     
  7. Wayne_T

    Wayne_T Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    HAHAHAH how did u come across figuring out that!!

    :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :)
     
  8. wag317

    wag317 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I came accross a forum in teamexecuter that said the flash bios 2.6.0 is very picky about what controller I use. So after 2 days of hunting, I found one and the rest is history.. It's pretty stupid that was the case.
     
  9. Wayne_T

    Wayne_T Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  10. kylef

    kylef Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    so wag, were you succesful in loading the new bios?
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2004
  11. wag317

    wag317 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yes. everything works great. Media center, evox dashboard. everything.
     
  12. kylef

    kylef Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    what bios did you use? and how did you set up the boot disc?
     
  13. kylef

    kylef Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    wuhooo nevermind, i changed the size of the 256k to 1mb, then it worked, and now i just need to ftp my xbox to get evox back on, thanks everyone
     

Share This Page