1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

not recognizing backed up games after update

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by boomstyliemikey, Aug 9, 2011.

  1. boomstyliemikey

    boomstyliemikey Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi, im sure this has been covered here but cant seem to find the thread can someone help me please.

    A year or so ago i flashed my xbox. Been playing and burning games no problem until yesterday I downloaded an update.Now the xbox wont recognise any of my games. Its like its been "unflashed" if that makes any sense. Any help would be greatly appreciated

    Thanks


    Michael
     
  2. peluynati

    peluynati Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    yes that horse has been beat to death, the new update flashes the drive back to stock, therefore you will have to get the most up-to-date firmware and reflash, you will also have to reburn any ap2.5 games you plan on playing they will need to be updated to the newest patches from abgx.
     
  3. boomstyliemikey

    boomstyliemikey Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for your advice. Just out of interest is this the case with every microsoft update that it flashes the drive back? Is there not away to get online without having to download the update?
     
  4. funksoulb

    funksoulb Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Nope. Just the last 2 I think, and I'm not even sure about the last 1. I don't think it's something that will happen often, cos it merely inconveniences modders rather than stops them and I think it was just done to add support for the new XGD3 disc type. Who knows though? We'll have to wait and see.

    If you flash your own drive, the best thing to do is flash back to stock, update the dashboard, then re-flash back to LT+, although only update the dashboard once you know it's OK to do so.

    Nope. Xbox Live requires that you have the latest dashboard update installed before you can play online.
     
  5. boomstyliemikey

    boomstyliemikey Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Damn it, looks like i need a new xbox then. Got rid of the computer i flashed it with and bought a laptop :-( Oh well.

    Cheers for the advice anyway guys

    Thank you
     
  6. Modking30

    Modking30 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You do NOT need a new xbox. Just reflash it. You always have to update the FW regardless. You can flash it with a laptop. Buy the lizard
     
  7. Thosmos

    Thosmos Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I think he had the key on his old machine.
     
  8. Modking30

    Modking30 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    If retail games boot, all is needed is a redump and reflash.
     
  9. boomstyliemikey

    boomstyliemikey Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have just bought a lizard lol. Thanks very much ModKing. You just saved me a lot of money :) Went in to town and the cheapest xbox i could find was £80 pre-owned. Seeing as ive already installed the new dashboard on my xbox. As soon as the lizard comes ill be back up and running.

    Thanks guys
     
  10. Thosmos

    Thosmos Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    But I thought that once the dashboard flash to stock came down, you could no longer extract the key?

    If you had the key saved before you had the new dash set to stock, you were okay.

    No??
     
  11. boomstyliemikey

    boomstyliemikey Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yeah the key was on my old computer. dont have it on my laptop. I actually dont have any retail games to try it on. :-s May need a new xbox after all. Looking forward to trying the lizard either way.
     
  12. gnoby

    gnoby Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    you can still get the key
     
  13. snickle

    snickle Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    There are new ways to get the key, that was just a minor bump in the road, the bad guys prevailed once again.
     
  14. boomstyliemikey

    boomstyliemikey Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    [/quote]There are new ways to get the key, that was just a minor bump in the road, the bad guys prevailed once again.[/quote]

    Could you point me in the direction to do this? I wouldnt even know what to start searching for?
     
  15. Eisherz

    Eisherz Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,828
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    78
    There are new ways to get the key, that was just a minor bump in the road, the bad guys prevailed once again.[/quote]

    Could you point me in the direction to do this? I wouldnt even know what to start searching for?[/quote]

    PMT Hack.
     
  16. peluynati

    peluynati Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    i'm not sure if i overlooked something or not, did you say what kind of drive is in the machine? if it is a liteon then the lizard is all you need to get the key or benq, i'm not sure what the concern is about the flash and not being able to find the key, the new JF knows where to look for it, all you need to do is get the most recent and follow the instructions. or with scorpion same thing just follow the instructions.
     
  17. boomstyliemikey

    boomstyliemikey Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    It's a philips Benq drive
     
  18. peluynati

    peluynati Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    well the new jf will find the key, i have not updated my scorpion yet but i'm sure it will find the key as well, no need to buy a new box.
     
  19. boomstyliemikey

    boomstyliemikey Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ill try the software that comes with the lizard and report back. If that doesnt work hopefully ill be able to use the lizard with the jf software
     
  20. boomstyliemikey

    boomstyliemikey Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi Guys,
    Just wanted to update you. Received the Lizard to day and managed to flash my drive again no problem. Has also written the drive key on the disc drive so I wont lose it. Thank you all very much

    You have saved me a lot of money. I was close to buying a new x box
     

Share This Page