1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

nothing work - need helps

Discussion in 'Video playback problems' started by xanders, Feb 3, 2007.

1. xanders

xanders Guest

Hi, I have Win. XP, Window Media player 11, Win-Amp the latest version. None of my AVI movies work in any of playter - WMP, BS Plater VLC etc. I had installed and reinstalled codecs - such as ACE mega codecs, Tsunami, K-lite. My problem was that I had to reformat my hard drive due to some problems. I have reformatted my harddrive many time before this time, the avi movies from my external hard work but not this time. This external hard drive is new. I read some replies and searched for solutions nothing help. I am a newbie. Please advise. Thank you.

2. onya

onya Guest

Hi xanders, it seems like you've been through the grinder a few times? You say you have an external hard drive, and it's brand new. It also contains your .AVI files, these will be intact, if you havn't altered them. So this really leaves your system.... do you agree? Now, delete all codecs you recently applied. Then delete the player, and all it's associated files. Please use a registry key cleaner, to ensure a clean re-start. A cleaner that comes to mind is Crap Cleaner, it's freeware available at this address.
    Crap cleaner will delete reg keys harmlessly.(but make a backup anyway)

Restart your system, and then Re-install the player, and then re-install the codecs. Restart, then Your system shoud now be familiar to you.

Cheers.

3. xanders

xanders Guest

hi onya, i uninstalled the winamp,avs player, vlc player n wmp rolled back to window 9. then i did the Crap cleaner and reboot the system. the AVI files still dont work. I havent altered any of the avi files. wat i did was jsut reformat my laptop. the movies were transferred from older external hard drive to the newer one. Before reformatting the laptop everything was fine.