1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NTSC To PAL

Discussion in 'Video - Software discussion' started by JMcQueen, Mar 1, 2003.

  1. JMcQueen

    JMcQueen Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    What is the best method of converting from NTSC to PAL. I've been using TMPGenc but it the frames seem to stutter every few frames or so.
     
  2. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    DVD2SVCD with CCE SP!
     
  3. JMcQueen

    JMcQueen Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Is there a guide anywhere that will walk me through the process of using DVD2SVCD to convert PAL 2 NTSC
     
  4. jnihil

    jnihil Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Canopus Procoder is probably easier.

    Rgds,
    jnihil.
     
  5. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    jnihil, whats the procoder quality and speed like??
     
  6. jnihil

    jnihil Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Procoder is somewhat slower, but I think the quality is better (this comment will upset all the CCE biggots out there...).

    I wish I could read this page, it has the encoder comparison in Russian:

    http://www.spline.ru/DigitalVideo/MPEG2EncodersComparison.htm

    The pics show a nice comparison tho.

    Procoder is more than an mpeg encoder. It can convert all kinds of file formats, and it's much cheaper than CCE. The USB dongle is a pain in the &%$# tho.

    Rgds,
    jnihil.
     
  7. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
  8. Wizkid

    Wizkid Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I did the translation Dela !
    I guess it's not normal russian, because it didn't translate all. Just some words...

    Buh !
     
  9. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I know I tried too!
     
  10. doze

    doze Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  11. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    lol, fair play to ya ;-)
     
  12. JMcQueen

    JMcQueen Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I've tried using canopus and the frames are smoother but the picture 'lines' as opposed to 'blocks' when the scene moves. I also have CCE if someone could explain how to use it to convert formats, the file Im looking to conver is in MPEG-2 format.
     
  13. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Use CCE SP with DVD2SVCD, its much better! DVD2SVCD can also do AVI2SVCD in case you were wondering!!
     
  14. JMcQueen

    JMcQueen Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    How do I use DVD2SVCD + CCE to convert an NTSC MPEG2 file to a PAL MPEG2? I thought it could only do IFO files?
     
  15. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I dont think it can do mpeg input actually it says ifo and avi!!
     
  16. JMcQueen

    JMcQueen Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have a couple of avi's that I also need to do, how do I do them?
     
  17. jnihil

    jnihil Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If you need to do mpeg2, then frameserve it using Avisynth into CCE.

    Rgds,
    jnihil.
     

Share This Page