1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

nvidia geforce 6150se nforce 430 Upgrade?

Discussion in 'Other PC hardware' started by Faux13, Nov 29, 2010.

  1. Faux13

    Faux13 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I would appreciate if someone would help me out on upgrading my Desktop to play today's computer games.
    I also think I might have to upgrade to a dual core since most games ask for one anyways :/

    My system specs below:
    Computer: CQ5300F
    Processor
    AMD Sempron LE-1300 2.30 Ghz (single core)
    Socket AM2 (940)
    System type: 64bit

    Motherboard
    Narra5
    Chipset: Nvdia

    DDR2 3072 MB
    Installed memory ram: 3GB (2.75 usable) guessing the gfx card uses some.

    Graphics
    Nvidia Geforce 6150se nforce 430
    Gpu: C61
    revision: A2
    memory size: 256mb
    Bandwith: 6.4Gb

    I have installed some games just according to this site called
    systemrequirementslab.com
    where you can check out if you can run all these games or not :D.
    I installed, Sillent Hill3,Splinter Cell,Gta sa,Resident Evil 5, FEAR and the expansions
    Alien vs Predator 2 and other various games.
    They worked Okay, that is if everything was on low. even then sometimes I would get 20-30 fps.

    But when I installed Crysis,Fallout:3,Devil may Cry 4,Ect..
    My pc got raped.

    Any help would be awesomely appreciated :D

    Edit: I'm running Windows 7 :p
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2010
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,664
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    98
    get a pci/e 16 videocard that meets your games requirements. what is the total wattage of your psu, is marked on a label on side of psu?
    Motherboard supports the following processor upgrades:
    Socket type: AM2+
    TDP: 95 watt
    •AMD Phenom II Quad-Core
    •AMD Phenom II Triple-Core
    •AMD Phenom Quad-Core (A) 9xxx series (AM2+)
    •AMD Phenom Triple-Core (T) 8xxx series (AM2+)
    •AMD Athlon X4
    •AMD Athlon X3
    •AMD Athlon X2 (B) (AM2+)
    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/...c=en&dlc=en&cc=ca&lang=en&product=4107501#N92
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2010
  4. Faux13

    Faux13 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Okay so my Input read 250W max.
    which sounds low.

    Pci/e 16 righ? well, what card do recommend for playing today's games?
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2010
  5. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,664
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    98
    see what the games require then see what psu might be needed for that card.
  6. Faux13

    Faux13 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    To play Crysis.
    CPU
    Recommended: Core 2 Duo 2.2 GHz/Athlon X2 4400+ or better
    You Have: AMD Sempron(tm) Processor LE-1300
    Upgrade Suggested: Unfortunately, your CPU does not meet this requirement. Click here to see some recommendations.

    CPU Speed
    Recommended: Core 2 Duo 2.2 GHz/Athlon X2 4400+ or better
    You Have: 2.28 GHz


    RAM
    Recommended: 2 GB
    You Have: 2.7 GB
    PASS

    OS
    Recommended: Windows XP/Vista/7
    You Have: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium Edition (build 7600), 64-bit
    PASS

    Video Card
    Recommended: Supported chipsets: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS with 640MB RAM or similar.
    You Have: GeForce 6150SE nForce 430
    Upgrade Suggested: Unfortunately, your Video Card does not meet this requirement. Click here to see some recommendations.
    Features: Recommended attributes of your Video Card
    Required You Have
    Video RAM 640 MB 1.4 GB
    3D Yes Yes
    Hardware T&L Yes Yes
    Pixel Shader version 3.0 3.0
    Vertex Shader version 3.0 3.0


    I want to be able to run crysis at medium high smoothly :D.
    Im willing to spend 200-300 dollars
  7. cee43ja1

    cee43ja1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    you do realize crysis is one of THE most demanding games out there, right? your system has no chance of getting playable framerates.

    you're better off building a new system from scratch. and if you're going for crysis, you're going to spend in excess of $700+ on hardware.
  8. Faux13

    Faux13 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thats exactly why I said crysis!
    if I can get a decent frame rate with good graphics then I can play any other game with no problem!

    Oh.. that building a pc from scratch sounds out of reach for me.
  9. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,664
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    98
    your cpu is a single core so you fail it too. you need new dual core cpu, new videocard & possibly new psu.
  10. Faux13

    Faux13 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yes, it said that.
  11. brankocile

    brankocile Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11

Share This Page