1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Odd mouse problem (probably video card related)

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by Keppler, Apr 23, 2005.

  1. Keppler

    Keppler Guest

    I just purchased and installed a graphics card. It seems silly, but my mouse can now go off the screen on the right hand side. Everything seems to be displaying properly (nothing is cut off, maxed windows butt up against the side proplerly, etc.). Anyone have any idea what setting has been screwed up so I can change it back?

    Thanks
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    is your desktop screen go right to the edge or is there black band around your desktop screen??
     
  3. Keppler

    Keppler Guest

    I didn't even notice it before, but it appears there is a black border around the outside.
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    is there a button or buttons on the front of your monitor case besides your power button. the button(s) allows you to adjust screen size, position, rotation & deguase(de-magnetize the screen). what is your current screen size & was it the same as on old videocard
     
  5. Keppler

    Keppler Guest

    I've tried adjusting the image using the monitor controls, and that doesn't seem to solve the problem.

    My screen size was 800X600 before and it's the same now.
     
  6. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Do you have a graphics manager software installed.(that is installed when you install the graphics card)

    If so go in there and see if there is setting regarding 'spanning' across monitors, if there is make sure ALL settings are setup to relate to you using a single monitor.............
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2005
  7. Keppler

    Keppler Guest

    Thanks baabaa, that worked like a charm.

    I was running off onboard video before and, obviously, I couldn't remove it when I installed the graphics card. The ATI set-up was still detecting the onboard video (of course) but, for some reason, it was acting as if a monitor was still plugged in to it and it had configured itself for 2 monitors.
     
  8. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Glad to help.........[bold]Welcome to Afterdawn[/bold]

    @ddp, we need your sign off please..............
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2005
  9. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    no problem, teach & learn
     
  10. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Killing me....................
     
  11. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    i didn't touch you so how can i be killing you!!!
     
  12. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    That's it, I am officially dead and will be reincarnated..........
     
  13. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    get your mother involved than!!!!
     
  14. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    LMAO..........seance time then, want to come?
     
  15. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    sure but you pay for the flight
     
  16. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    No problems, telekinesis works well from the UK............LOL
     
  17. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    in the summer time when air is warm
     

Share This Page