1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

One Computer On Network Suddenly Not Working

Discussion in 'Windows - General discussion' started by Tweeder, Jan 23, 2007.

1. Tweeder

Tweeder Regular member

Alright, here's my setup. I've been running this little home network for over two years without a single problem. I have the whole network wired, no wireless connections involved.

I have my main computer (the one that won't connect right now) and 3 other computers. I have a server computer that serves all the files and music streaming, etc. Every computer in the house has file sharing turned on.

Now every computer on the network is running fine, except my main.

When I restart it tries to renew the ip address and connect to the router but it just wont connect. eventually I get the "limited connectivity" message and nothing works on it, no net, sharing, nothing.

I tried setting static ips on the whole network. *.101, *.102, etc. with no success.

I also tried running the network setup wizard to resolve anything that could have possibly changed to no avail. I did a soft and hard reset on the router with no success. Even though the modem is working fine with other computers I even hard restart that.

I've narrowed the problem down to the router or the main PC, I'm 98% it's that computer.

Any suggestions?

2. janrocks

janrocks Guest

This will probably sound obvious. Are the drivers for the network hardware installed and the device enabled, and you have checked the network card and the cable by substitution?

3. Tweeder

Tweeder Regular member

Yes, the drivers are installed properly and the device is enabled. It "seems" to be working ok, it just wont find the network, it gets stuck on "renewing ip address".