1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Only NTFS supports over 4GB???

Discussion in 'PS2' started by ps2dude, Nov 7, 2004.

  1. ps2dude

    ps2dude Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I haven't had problems with WinRAR but i can't figure out this NTFS barrier. I try to use WinRAR to extract an iso thats about 4.3 GB. I looked in other threads and you guys say to convert to NTFS, but i already have it converted to NTFS but still get the error. Is there anything else i need to do?
     
  2. devilhunt

    devilhunt Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    what does the error say?
     
  3. ps2dude

    ps2dude Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Only NTFS-formatted Drives support files larger than 4GB
     
  4. devilhunt

    devilhunt Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    ok go to my computer right click on your hard disc go down to properties, click it then what does it say for file system
     
  5. ps2dude

    ps2dude Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have two hard discs. One i know for sure is FAT32 and the other is NTFS. I tried FAT32 but it didn't work. So i copied it to my NTFS HD and tried to extract it again but it still didn't work...Thx for the help..
     
  6. devilhunt

    devilhunt Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    when you are trying to extract the image make sure that the extracted file is going to the ntfs hard disc not the fat 32 disc
     
  7. ps2dude

    ps2dude Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yeah i did, my NTFS HD is Drive F: so i draged it there and the error came up. I don't know what else could be the problem.
     
  8. devilhunt

    devilhunt Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    no i'm not saying to move your file to your f: drive what i'm saying is make a empty folder on your ntfs drive then when you go to extract your image file browse to that folder as destination for the extracted image
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2004
  9. ps2dude

    ps2dude Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Okay, hope this works.
     
  10. ps2dude

    ps2dude Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for the help...Finally works. I thought extracting to my NTFS by draging the file would work but i guess it doesn't. Thanks for your patience...
     
  11. devilhunt

    devilhunt Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    no prob, glad you got it sorted
     

Share This Page