1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Only option I have is: Open with

Discussion in 'Windows - Virus and spyware problems' started by anarkya, Sep 5, 2011.

  1. anarkya

    anarkya Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello everyone,
    Upon downloading a file online today from a place I thought was safe, I ended up with a popup window asking me to install something with the .exe. I of course clicked no. AVG then detected a virus with an exe extension that I removed. 
    Once I was done, I tried loading firefox from my toolbar and I was asked to open it with a list of programs. Similar to when you try and open a file and want to open it with say word or notepad, except this window is not the windows one. It's bigger. 
    I tried another file and got the same Open with window.
    Everything I tried to open, I get this window. I cannot load anything. 

    Here's what I tried. 

    -Restore point. Doesn't work, I'm asked to open with. 
    -HJT, Mbam, AVG. Doesn't work. I'm asked to open with. 
    -Can't run MBAM from a CD, deny work. Open with window is what appears. 
    -Safe mode doesn't work. Same thing. Open with is what's popping up. 

    In the list of things I can use (just giving an example) is Paint. I loaded paint on my laptop, and I'm still getting an open as option. 
    Open paint with paint?
    I'm not gonna click anything on that open with window. 

    What else can I do? I'm stuck. 

    I'm posting this from my iPhone. 

    Thank you very much for your help. 
     
  2. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,504
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
  3. anarkya

    anarkya Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I tried the command in the link. In RUN, and it didn't work. I'm getting the same Open with window.
     
  4. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,504
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Have you tried accessing the restore point from the command prompt in Safe Mode.
    For XP, it's:

    %systemroot%\system32\restore\rstrui.exe

    For Windows 7 it's just:

    rstrui.exe
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2011
  5. anarkya

    anarkya Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    No because I didn't know how to do it. I however tried the option mentioned here: http://www.computing.net/answers/security/open-with-virus/29156.html

    And it worked.

    According to what I read, it was caused by the deletion of a virus I got when I downloaded the file.

    Thank you for your help Attar.
     

Share This Page