1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ooollldddddd lap top

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by longjonsi, Aug 8, 2004.

  1. longjonsi

    longjonsi Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ok....my friend has a lap top that he wants me to fix....it has no operating system, but it came with 95....so i stuck the 95 cd in and it didnt boot from it but instead said that message thing about "stick in a <whatever disk>"....and just to test i put in a millenium cd and it boots from that....but for some reason the 95 doesnt work...idk...do computers not boot from a 95 cd...and if they dont then what do i do instead???

    (just to fill you in on it a little...its a gateway and it has a floppy drive...but it can only be in if you take the cd drive out)
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]Philadelphia Flyers
    [​IMG]

    www.homebiz.ws


    Tronto Mapple Leafs
    [​IMG][/small]
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2004
  2. cozza1987

    cozza1987 Guest

    Ok, Windows 95 isnt a bootable CD.

    What you can do though, is copy the contents of the Windows 95 CD onto your comptuer in a directory.

    Get a Windows Start-up floppy disk.

    Open Nero, and create a blank bootable CD layout.

    Put the Floppy in the Floppy Drive, then click New. That will copy the contents of the Bootable Floppy.

    Drag the contents u copied from the CD to the Blank Layout

    Burn to CD.

    Now you will have a bootable Windows 95 Start-up Disk.

    Regards
    CoZZa
     
  3. longjonsi

    longjonsi Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    alright that looks pretty simple....i'll get to it tomarro and let you know how it turns out....thanks....a lot
     
  4. cozza1987

    cozza1987 Guest

    No Problems, if u need any more help, post away.

    Regards
    CoZZa
     
  5. longjonsi

    longjonsi Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ok....i ran into a problem....idt the version of nero that i have can make a blank bootable cd layout...or if it does idk where the option is.....but anyway, im getting the demo thing that after dawn gives to see if that works....but i doubt it...so is there anyother program that i can use to do this? or should i just go get the new nero?????
     
  6. cozza1987

    cozza1987 Guest

    Ok since you are getting the new version of nero....

    Put the start-up Disk in the floppy drive.

    Open up Nero Burning Rom.....(in the Start Menu)

    Now on the left hand side there should be options eg CD-ROM (IS), Audio CD.....
    Scroll down to CD-ROM (Boot)

    Now select New

    Now nero will copy the contents of the Floppy into the Compiliation.

    Drag the Windows 95 files from the right hand side onto the left hand side.

    Click Burn (Disc with Red Match on Toolbar)

    Regards
    CoZZa
     
  7. longjonsi

    longjonsi Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ok...well while it was dl'ing i started to look for another way to make one and i made it through roxio (i think)....but now i put it in and it says "Starting Windows 95"...then it waits a sec and goes to a:\> which is the cd drive...so i typed in setup.exe and nothing happend...it said it was a bad command...did i make the disk wrong...or do i just no know how to install 95 like this?...if i dont hten can you tell me what to do when it gets to a:\>
     
  8. cozza1987

    cozza1987 Guest

    What you will need to do is type

    E: (being D: actually, as the start-up disk prob created a RAM drive)

    then u should have E:/>

    now type Setup

    Regards
    CoZZa
     
  9. longjonsi

    longjonsi Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    no its the a: drive ....but i tried e anyway and it said it didnt have one...then i tried all the other letters (up to like h:) and the only other one i had was c: (which is obiviously the hd)....so im gonna get the trial nero and try to make a new disk that will work...i'll get back to you soon
     
  10. cozza1987

    cozza1987 Guest

    What you will need to do is use a Windows 98 Start-up Disk, as most, some of them do, but Windows 95 disks dont support CD-ROM support in DOS.

    So if you get a Windows 98 Start-up disk and use when burning on Nero.

    When u boot to the CD select With CD-ROM Support.

    You will then have A:, C:, D:, E:

    A = Floppy
    C = Hard Drive
    D = Ram Drive
    E = CD-ROM

    Regards
    CoZZa
     
  11. longjonsi

    longjonsi Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    wow...dude your the man....it worked....thanks
     

Share This Page