1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Overclocking my processor

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by amirbih, Sep 4, 2007.

  1. amirbih

    amirbih Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok so i have an AMD Athlon 64 3500+ ~ 2.2ghz processor.

    i wanna over clock to like 2.8ghz or something.

    how can i do this?
     
  2. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    No offense but when you entered the forum did ou not see the overclocking thread? Here it is:
    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/83263

    All you have to do is to go into your motherboard BIOS raise the FSB. You want to raise it from 200 mhz to 255 mhz in your case. For further questions please post in the overclocking thread.
     
  3. amirbih

    amirbih Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    sorry bout that ill continue discussion there
     
  4. Waymon3X6

    Waymon3X6 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    for the record, amds dont overclock to well.

    You do the overclocking in the BIOS. There are programs for windows, but I find that using those on my computer crashes it before I can up a mhz.
     
  5. socom1990

    socom1990 Guest

    How do I acces the FSB I no how to access the bios but not FSB
     
  6. Estuansis

    Estuansis Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,452
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    68
    I'm going to argue that and say that they overclock VERY well. The Athlon 64 is sometimes known as the first extreme overclocker's processor.

    I've had my X2 4400+ to and over 3.2GHz from 2.2GHz and I had a perfectly stable OC.

    DO NOT overclock until you have good cooling. I suggest taking the PC to a local egghead and having him purchase and install a good cooler for you. Until we confirm you have good cooling I'm not going to help you there.

    And I'm not trying to be mean, but you have already shown your lack of knowledge or skill by not being able to find your FSB. So I wouldn't recommend you overclock to begin with until you start learning the basics. Check out the overclockers thread and ask for some pointers before you even THINK about starting anything.

    And if you have a mass manufactured PC like A Dell, HP, Gateway, Acer, eMachines, etc. You will not even be ABLE to overclock.

    2.4GHz is reasonable for stock cooling on the 3500+ but 2.8GHz is going to give you some serious issues unless you get some nice air-cooling. My favorite is the Arctic Freezer 64 Pro.
     
  7. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    He can't do it, he has a Compaq.
     
  8. Waymon3X6

    Waymon3X6 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    @ Estuansis, I say that because I have a friend who has an amd 2.4ghz I think and he can only get to 2.6 tops, then its BSODs. He has a zalman heatsink for the cpu.
     
  9. socom1990

    socom1990 Guest

    Can sombody plz tell me how to acess the FSB.
     
  10. Waymon3X6

    Waymon3X6 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    socom, google is your best friend...
     
  11. socom1990

    socom1990 Guest

    I did nothing shows up that helps me.

    And thats what theaz forums are for so people help others.
     
  12. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Yeah, but I already mentioned you have to go into the BIOS. Don't take offense but you probably didn't search the right terms. Options to change the FSB should be under Advanced options or something like that in your mobo BIOS.
     
  13. Estuansis

    Estuansis Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,452
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Eh, not an OC-friendly board maybe? I haven't had problems with bluescreens from an OC. Either points to the board or he wasn't adjusting voltages.

    Is it true that you have a Compaq socom?

    If so just give up now. It is NOT POSSIBLE to overclock on mass mfg. PCs.
     
  14. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Amir has a Compaq. Socom is about to build his own PC I believe. I have a Compaq PC that runs stable at 2880 MHZ, up from stock 26600 MHZ. That's with overclocking through windows, but it's not worth it. To cut back costs big companies use cheap components and I am not comfortable with putting any more strain on them then I have to.
     
  15. Estuansis

    Estuansis Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,452
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Well then that helps a great deal!

    Socom1990, just make sure you have good cooling!!! I cannot stress enough!!! Go into BIOS and it should be in something like "smart features" or "advanced options" or "advanced tuning." Your FSB should be there.

    I still recommend going into the overclockers thread and presenting your situation there. They might be able to help you out with what kinds of settings to adjust and what to watch for. Overclocking is MUCH more complex than just turning up your FSB. You have to watch voltages, multipliers, HTT(if with AMD) and about 4 or 5 other things to get the best and safest results.
     
  16. socom0000

    socom0000 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    were can I get good cooling and cheap under 50 bucks?

    O and for processor.
     
  17. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Holy Crap you managed to get banned again! Wow you must really be hated!

    Don't go off on a rant against me, I was just noting that. The arctic cooling freezer 64 is a good cooler for AMD CPUs.
     
  18. socom0000

    socom0000 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    No it was for no reson this time man I havent ben doing enything wrong I don't know why they keep doing it.

    And no I wouldent do that to you cause you cool and nice to me but I did that to that other dud cause I took that offensiv.

    Yo do you have AIM and if so PM it to me K.
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2007
  19. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Ok well to stop from getting banned again remove that link from your sig.
     
  20. socom0000

    socom0000 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16

Share This Page