1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PAL PS2, swap magic and NTSC TV questions!

Discussion in 'PS2 - Software boot discussion' started by vaant, May 11, 2007.

  1. vaant

    vaant Guest

    Hi, at the end of this month I'm going to be moving to America from the UK and I'll be bringing my PS2 with me as well as my PAL games. I want to know how i would go about getting my PAL games to display on a normal American TV.

    I have Swap Magic Coder and Zoneloader which i can both boot off my Memory card (using the exploit as i don't own the discs).

    I see there are video options to choose from. If i select 'NTSC' for my PAL games will that make them display properly on an NTSC American TV?

    Remember the PS2 I'm using is a UK PAL model and my games are PAL store bought games (not backups). I'm asking this because when i do try and boot my PAL games using either swap magic or zoneloader and i select the NTSC option the image on my TV is displaying in NTSC mode but the screen is VERY off centered! So i'm guessing it will work but there's no Y-fix? Or does it just display funny because I'm using a PAL TV at the moment?

    So anyone who has experience with booting PAL games using swap magic or zoneloader for displaying on an NTSC TV please help me :(.

    Thankyou.
     
  2. Eyedea707

    Eyedea707 Guest

    you either have to buy different cords or you have to have a tv that is compatible with pal. But since you do have SM what you can do is when you have your games in iso or bin for on your comp. Just convert them to ntsc.

    http://www.sksapps.com/mis/ps2_pal2ntsc_yfix_source.zip

    Thats the link for the app. It will only take 2 seconds. Hope this helps out.

    -Eyedea707
     
  3. vaant

    vaant Guest

    Great, thanks for your reply. I was hoping i'd be able to play my games without having to back them up and convert them. How do you guys play PAL games on your systems using swap magic then? or do you always convert them to NTSC first before burning them?

    And why does Swap Magic provide different video modes? and whats the point in Zoneloader (from the name i thought it WAS just for changing regions) and like i said, my PAL games boot in NTSC mode and run in 60Hz if i select NTSC video mode within Swap Magic BUT the screen is very off centre (although can be fixed in some games which allow manual screen positioning like FFX-2), i was just hoping this was due to me having a PAL TV or that there is a Y-fix option that i possibly missed :(.
     
  4. Eyedea707

    Eyedea707 Guest

    k dont mind the first post. you can by cables or have a tv the is compatable with pal. You can always back up your games and convert them to ntsc. Its all up to you man
     
  5. vaant

    vaant Guest

    OK i wont have a TV thats compatible with PAL at first, wat cables will i need? my fiancee has an American PS2.. so I'll have both the UK type cables, US cables and a scart lead.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 11, 2007
  6. tmbm

    tmbm Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  7. vaant

    vaant Guest

    Thanks, the link you provided was just a power cord to a video converter. But it looks like it's the converter i might need... but woah they're expensive! Around $150 :S

    I'm hoping these products are either very over priced or there's an alternative :p. I'll keep looking into it but there's not much i can do while I'm still in England and can't test anything out for myself ~sigh~
     
  8. tmbm

    tmbm Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    where you seein 150 bucks
     
  9. vaant

    vaant Guest

    The link you gave me 'http://www.hdstep.com/product.php?productid=16320&cat=307&page=1' is just a power cord for the converter itself, read the description;

    Universal Power Cord is designed to work with SB-3690 (PAL to NTSC video converter) for International customers. Select the power cord you need from UK, EU or AU above.'

    Then do a product search for the converter itself and it costs around 150:

    http://www.hdstep.com/product.php?productid=16318&cat=0&page=1
     
  10. tmbm

    tmbm Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Cant remember the name of this cable you can use, costs about 10 bucks, i used it on my ps but it was ntsc to pal instead of pal to ntsc good luck ill look around
     
  11. vaant

    vaant Guest

    I'm sure your thinking of just a scart lead, which i use at the moment to play my NTSC games on my PAL TV. But even with that the PAL TV has to have NTSC support too i think (but using a scart lead would show the image in colour instead of black and white).

    Of course i could be wrong and you may be talking about something else.

    Is there any cable that would show PAL games in colour and with a stable picture on a normal American TV?
     
  12. tmbm

    tmbm Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yeah sorry for any inconvinience
     
  13. vaant

    vaant Guest

    Hey it's no problem. I'm happy you tried to help ^__^.
     

Share This Page