1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PC suddenly restarts while playing games, one of em is Test Drive Unlimited

Discussion in 'Windows - General discussion' started by mmalyszko, Mar 7, 2007.

1. mmalyszko

mmalyszko Regular member

I have a messed up Master Boot Record with possible bad sectors. I tried using CHKDSK with the /F and also the /P And /R parameters. Didn't work. Also i tried formatting it twice with the XP installation CD. Also i tried fixing the Master Boot Record by creating a new one with the FIXMBR. Same thing. No luck with that either. After like 20 to 30 minutes while im playing a game the PC shuts down by itself, also it sounds like a HD problem cause they are still spinning. Im guessing a bad sector. Also my scandisk shows i have sector errors also. Ohh and while im not playing a game my PC will get a BSOD. This started to happen just a few days ago so I can't remember what the BSOD exactly said. But from what I can remember it sounded like a HD problem or RAM problem. But then if i had a RAM problem my PC wouldn't boot for crap.

2. whompus

whompus Active member

Have you try fdisk /mbr

3. The_Fiend

The_Fiend Guest

Try downloading Hiren's BootCD, and running some of it's hard disk tools.

4. mmalyszko

mmalyszko Regular member