1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PCMCIA SATA Card

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by frenchegg, Mar 30, 2007.

  1. frenchegg

    frenchegg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello,

    I currently have a laptop and do not have a SATA connection. I was wondering if I purchased a PCMCIA card with SATA connections this would solve the problem and work in the same way.What I wanted to achive in the end was to install the Blaster 360 or equivalant. Just wanted to check before i go out and purchase one. I have included a link to the sort of card I am on about.

    Many thanks

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=47106&doy=search
     
  2. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    search through the first few pages of this forum, i know i have seen posts where people suggest which SATA card to buy. It has to run on a certain chipset to work. And the Blaster 360 would be a good investment. (so you know Xeno also makes one now called Top Gear and it is about $30 less)
     
  3. frenchegg

    frenchegg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I may be totaly missing the point here but I know you can but a SATA connetion for a normal PC and you can but quite a selection but i wondered if buying the SATA card for laptop thought the PCMICA concetion would do the same job as the selection from what I've seen is limitedand htere isn't realy a chip set for the card.
     
  4. theridges

    theridges Guest

    yes it will do the same job....
    http://www.topmic.com/wbt-6030v.html
    that is the one you need because it has to have the VIA Chipset..
    and i would get the blaster..
    you have to cut the bottom of your case for the top gear and it is poorly made..
    [​IMG]

     
  5. frenchegg

    frenchegg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Unfortunately I live in the UK so wouldn't be able to purchase the card from the link proveded. As long as I purchase a card with the VIA VT6421 chipset would that be ok. I have seen some differnt variations of the VIA VT6421 chipset some have an L on the the end "VIA VT6421L" would that make a differnce.
     
  6. 98sohc

    98sohc Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i am sure the "L" is the newer version than the "A". i am using 6421L for my pci sata card and it works flawlessly.
     
  7. theridges

    theridges Guest

    yea aslong as its the VIA Chipset you will be fine :)
     

Share This Page