1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PeerGuardian VS. Protowall how to secure p2p

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by elliott, Jan 15, 2005.

1. elliott

elliott Regular member

I have been using p2p now for about 5 months and now very concerned about my identity and security. I currently use peerguardian but a friend told me about protowall. Whats the difference and does anyone have a favorite client that is more secure currently using Azureus. I would like some suggestions on which is the safest cleint to use as well as ip blocking or masking info.

2. DaOsT

DaOsT Regular member

safest ways to download are
    newsgroups and irc

peerguardian was heavier on the cpu usage when I used it rather than protowall
    I prefer protowall its much easier on cpu and memory, downside is its a little harder to install and you also need blocklist manager to get the list of blocked ip's

in My personal opinion protowall is superior

3. elliott

elliott Regular member

thanks for replying but what is irc and how do you download through newsgroups never have used them.

4. DaOsT

DaOsT Regular member

decent newsgroups are invite only or so much a month depends on ones you know or want to get into,

irc is pretty good but a little complicated theres a guide here
    and any questions you have will be answered by the guide on mirc.....just search it on google......
    read into it if you used win 95 you will have a head start

use the likes of packetnews.com to find files that are avaliable

honestly the more reading you do the more enjoyment you will get from irc

let us know how you are getting on

5. pcss

pcss Guest