1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pentium 2 processor

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by core2kid, Feb 18, 2008.

  1. core2kid

    core2kid Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Anybody know where I can get a Pentium 2 450 MHz processor? My old one fried after 9 years while trying it out in another bad motherboard. Apparently the pins on the slot were bent or something.
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2008
  2. cee43ja1

    cee43ja1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    ebay or a pick and pull shop.

    you can try THIS shop. it's based in sunnyvale, CA, and i've personally been to the shop. it's where i was able to pick up a pIII 1ghz for my parents aging skt370.
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2008
  3. BigDK

    BigDK Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
  4. core2kid

    core2kid Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Thanks for the links but the 1st one doesn't have the 450 MHz version and the 2nd one is only for UK, I'm in the US.
     
  5. cee43ja1

    cee43ja1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    HERE for u.s. ebay.

    some are the pII xeon processors. you'll have to look through them
     
  6. core2kid

    core2kid Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Thanks, that link helped. I saw that you searched for "Pentium ii" I had searched for "Pentium 2". Maybe that's why I hadn't found anything.
     
  7. BigDK

    BigDK Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    wasn't sure if you'd be in UK, there looks like there are quite a few available.

    Glad it's helped.

    Best option is to use the buy tab at top right corner.
    Then computing in list on left /desktop pc components/cpus/intel cpus/ then select from available options ie p2
     
  8. cee43ja1

    cee43ja1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    yeah, when searching for the older pII/pIII, you'll have to use roman numerals to get better results.
     
  9. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,073
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    core, what motherboard do you have as might be possible to go higher then 450mhz?
     
  10. core2kid

    core2kid Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    The motherboard is one from a Dell Dimension XPS R450. Currently I have a 550 MHz Pentium 3 inside after a BIOS downgrade to A09. I just don't know if it is safe to keep that there. I read that the Pentium 3 Katmai processors draw more amperage than the Pentium 2 that I had inside. Its been working fine inside for 3-4 days though with several 100% CPU stretches. I read everything at the link below.
    http://www.roberthancock.com/dell/xpsrproc.htm
     

Share This Page