1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer 105 and Bulkpak Media to play back on another player?

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by coasters, May 12, 2003.

  1. coasters

    coasters Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Pioneer 105 and Bulkpaq Media to play back on another player?

    I have bought 100 of these generation 3 purple disks without trying a few first.
    Seems to burn with 100% success rate but only if played back in the 105.
    Sony OEM drive won’t play, won’t play in Mac DVD, won’t play in PS2, won’t play in two standalones (not sure of brand).

    I know they don’t meet dvd-r standards (as per pioneer) and there have been a lot of bad reports about them.

    Should I just be happy that it burns at all or does anyone have any offers for best ripping/burning software or tips to ensure compatibility in more than just the 105?
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2003
  2. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

    Pioneer 104 & Bulkpaq [Purple]

    Smartripper 2.41
    DVD2One v.1.1.2
    Nero 5.5.10.20 (although 5.5.9.9. worked too)

    [bold]Plays in : [/bold]
    Pioneer 104
    Lite-On 165H
    Sony DVP-NS305 [stand alone]
    PS2 v.7

     
  3. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

    If you burn @ X2 on this disc using firmware update YOU will have problems with playback
     
  4. coasters

    coasters Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have not bothered with the firmware - I have a Medion PC - the Pioneer UK website says the latest firmware is not compatible with my drive. I don't know why my drive is different to all the other 105s, but apparently it is...

    So I am on firmware 1.20 and can't go to anything else.
     
  5. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
  6. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    The Pioneer 104 is known to be better at burning on cheap blank media BTW_X_X_X_X_X_[small]I give you all these seed bearing plants & herbs to use...[/small]
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2003
  7. coasters

    coasters Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I quote from http://www.pioneer.co.uk/uk/support_software.jsp?category=support/software

    R5ta130.exe
    Firmware Upgrade Ver. 1.30
    This upgrade is not suitable for use on drives supplied in Computers by Medion/Aldi.
    Caution! Once the drive has been updated to this version, the drive will NOT be able to be restored to an earlier firmware version

    Makes me a bit scared to attempt any flashing if even the official version is not compatible.

    Thanks for your help btw
     
  8. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
  9. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

    Pioneer official site is of NO use at all...well they haven't been to me.

    I asked them a question & it took almost 3 weeks for any kind of response...and it wasn't helpful.
     
  10. tekbright

    tekbright Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Here is a link. The 1.30 is for your 105,and should work. It is from Gradius.www.rpc1.com .Try Ritek
     
  11. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    tekbright

    What link ? LOL

    If you had looked at the link I left earlier you'd see that the Gradius firmware patch for Pioneer 105 is on there (D'OH) !!!!: )
     
  12. coasters

    coasters Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    flashed it ok - but the dvds still only play on the Pioneer 105
     
  13. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

    I've heard the Pioneer 104 is or has better compatibilty for cheap blank media & stand alone player playback.

    Bulkpaq Purple are burning okay in my Pioneer DVD-RW and playing back okay on Pioneer 104 DVD-RW,Lite-On 165H,PS2 v.7,Mirror 110,Sony DVP-NS305,Bush DVD/TV Combo.
    I wouldn't try putting a large film on them mind..two and a half hours for instance.
     

Share This Page