1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

pioneer a06 and dvd+r probs

Discussion in 'DVD±R for advanced users' started by spete, Aug 20, 2003.

  1. spete

    spete Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    when i try to burn a dvd+r with the a06 it will burn (clone dvd or nero) the burning will go ok, but the disc is not readable in any of my dvd players, not even the burner that made it. A DVD-r and a DVD+rw burns ok, and is readable. I've tried to backup my dvd's on +r, but produced nothing but coasters on these. Any sugestions. As i said my backups on -r and +rw work like a charm. Used thats write, philips and datatrack DVD+r.
    A DVD+R made by a friend, who owns a nec 1300 plays ok, he uses the same progs as i do.
    Anyone with a bright idea is worthy of my unlimited thanks

    Pioneer a06, FW 1.06
    clonedvd 1.1.7.1
    Nero 5.10.35
    aspi 4.60
     
  2. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    What DVD+R media are you using? As long as the -R works, then you are sweet anyway!
     
  3. spete

    spete Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ive been using Philips, thats write HP and datatrack +R media before i gave up, like to know why the +R's wont work. I know a Hp from a friend works in a my dvd players

    thx
     
  4. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    The DVR106 is really a -R writer, with +R writing capabilities. It will always write better using -R than +R. Its the same for the Sony dual formats in reverse.
     
  5. spete

    spete Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    that's an easy way out.
     
  6. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    It sure is :)

    But it is also very true and has been of concern to some who use the Pioneer DVR106. I personally dont bother with +R and have no idea what yuor problem may be caused by!
     
  7. Tosca

    Tosca Guest

    "The DVR106 is really a -R writer, with +R writing capabilities."

    LOL

    Well well. The much vaunted A06 is crap then?

    Oh well...as long as it writes -Rs...LOL

    On a more serious note. Try various +R media if you insist on using +R media.
    DVD-R is cheaper anyways.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 21, 2003
  8. spete

    spete Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'v found a solution to my own problem,

    Burn the DVD+R in the udf/iso level 1, not relaxing the iso restrictions and the trick for me is on the UDF tab tick the force DVD Video compatability box.

    Maybe I am doing somebody a favor by posting this.

    So no easy way out this time :->
     
  9. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Isnt that the normal way to burn it??
     
  10. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

    Yes , he had his settings wrong in the first place..
     
  11. spete

    spete Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Nowhere in this forum or any other for that matter i've read to tick the force dvd video compatibility box. only physical partition, 1.02. i'm glad i tried it, now i can burn dvd+r and play them on my philips stand alone player. So according to all the forums i did everything just right, but the little white box on the udf tab was the one i needed.
     
  12. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
  13. spete

    spete Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I've seen this and since i do not own such an x-box thing i've not bothered to check the force.... box, apparently it works well with my philips standalone to, i need it with +r, but not with -r, whitch is strange, because philips is a supporter of the +r forum. i guess i never read the last screen to well, sorry my mistake.

    as they say in the movies, all's well that ends well.

    grtz
    spete
     

Share This Page