1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer DVD Writer/Reader questions

Discussion in 'PS2' started by e3e4520, Dec 2, 2002.

1. e3e4520

e3e4520 Member

Hi,
    I am new to PS2 copying. Right now I have a Pioneer DVD-305S and have been using it to copy PS1 games for a while. I have a Plextor 1210s CDRW. However the Pioneer unit apparently can't do digital audio extraction very well as some games that I copied have no music or just plain noise. Does anyone else have this problem? I usually just use my CDR to burn image files and burm them into disks.

Also, I am leaning toward getting a DVD Writer so I can backup PS2 games. The Pioneer DVR-A05 is attractive but I'm afraid of the same old problem. Any recommendation for a good DVD writer to backup PS2 games?

Also, should I keep the old 305S reader? Will the old digital audio extraction problem exist with PS2 games?

Thank you guys in advance in helping a newbie out.

Mark

2. e3e4520

e3e4520 Member

By the way, I am running Windows XP, Asus CUV4X board with Pentium III 650. Adaptec 2940UW SCSI adaptor.

3. Wizkid

Wizkid Active member

Once again (because this one has been asked about a 1000 times). But okee its almost christmas:
    There are 2 kinds of PS2 games:
    1. Compact Disc based games
    2. DVD-rom based games
    You can find it at the back of the case of a game (it says CD or DVD). You also can look if the CD is purple or white at the back. (Purple is CD and white is DVD)
    1. CD based games you can copy them with a regular CD-writer on regular CD-r. Copy them with CloneCd 4 in combination with ClonyXl (download by search).
    2. DVD based games you have to copy them with a DVD-writer on DVD-r/-rw or DVD+r/+rw.
    I copy these games with Nero 5.5.9.17. on DVD+r and also on DVD+rw. No problems sofar.
    Other people talk about and use Primo Prassi to copy DVD-games.