1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer DVR-107D stop problems

Discussion in 'DVD / Blu-ray drives' started by DK-TOPO, May 12, 2004.

  1. DK-TOPO

    DK-TOPO Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well. This is a weird problem.

    First some informations about my system.

    OS: Win XP Prof.
    CPU: 3,06 Ghz Pentium 4, FSB 800
    RAM: 2048 MB PC400 Kingston, running 2x512 Dual.
    Motherboard: Soltek (big motherfucker)
    Controller: Maxtor Ultra ATA 133 IDE.
    I have 2 DVD burners in this computer:
    - Sony U10A and Pioneer DVR-107D
    - 2 IDE Harddrives (you need to know about ;))

    I'm running The 2 DVD burners on seperated IDE channels.
    The 2 Hardrives also have their own.
    So 4 Drives And 4 channels.

    My problem is that I can't burn with both my DVD burners at the same time.
    When I'm trying:

    Both device buffers are pretty unstable.
    First the burns perfekt, except the unstable buffer.
    But a place between 1 and 99% the Pioneer just stops burning. The time counter keeps going, but the speed sais 0,0x. I'm not getting any errors!
    The Sony burner completes the burning with no errors.
    Some times, rarely, both burners completes.

    Then I can't access the drive and in about 2 minutes the computer totally freezes.

    I also have a Sony Dru-500A (old bastard :)) It's not installed any more.
    But in "old days" when I was doing the same trick, installed in the same way, the 2 Sony's burned excellent at the same time.

    I have tryed diffrent program: NERO, DVDdecrypter.
    I have tryed many kinds of medias: Memorex, Princo, Verbatim, Ritek, Platinum, Datatrack, BulkPaq, Prodey and many more.
    I have tryed reducing the speed.
    Both drives burns perfekt individually.

    Defektive drive, no don't think so.

    Any ideas?

    Btw. Sony DVD burners have 8 MB buffer and Pioneer only 2. Maybe thats the reason ?

    Best Regards
    Danish TOPO
     
  2. goomy

    goomy Guest

    I am having similar experience with single dvr-107d. "All of a sudden", after working okay for months, dvd decrypter started showing these same symptoms on the read side - buffer to 100 and speed just drops to 0 usually before I get a single vob out. Then app is then non-responsive and can't be killed, dvd won't eject. DVDxCopy stops with 'can't write archive.txt' "normal" play directly from the unit is unaffected. Updated from firmware 1.05 to 1.16 no help. Ready to trash the Pioneer and just install a new Sony unless anyone has ideas?
     
  3. VinylPush

    VinylPush Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The issue of 'burning at 0.0X speed' can occurr when using non-legitimate versions of popular recording software (Alcohol 120% or Nero, I forget which is affected).

    This can also occurr if your laser lens(es) are less than clean (I've had this happen this very evening). if this is the case, you may also have come across errors when trying to write to a disc (power calibration errors, but leaves the disc still blank and recordable).

    The unstable buffer issue certainly sounds like there is some I/O contention going on. Simplest thing it could be is one or more of your devices (HD, DVD-RW) operating in PIO mode (rather than UDMA). I would guess one or more of your HD's.

    I'm not familiar with Soltek boards, do you know if you have a VIA chipset (VIA chipsets suffer frequent PIO mode 'fallback')?

    If you do have a VIA chipset but have not installed the Hyperion drivers: Check in 'Device Manager->IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers->[primary and/or secondary]'. If Windows reports 'Use DMA if available' is selected, but displays your drive using PIO mode: 'Uninstall' the IDE controller in Device Manager (the controller, not the Channel) and reboot. Then download and install the Hyperion drivers ;)

    If you have a VIA chipset and have installed the latest VIA Hyperion driver, download and use VIA's IDETOOL to accomplish the transition to UDMA.

    If you haven't a VIA chipset, I'm stumped :)

    BTW, buffer size is irrelevant (more so on your powerful system, compared to my Athlon XP 1900).
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]--
    Anyone seen my bitch?[/small]
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2004
  4. DK-TOPO

    DK-TOPO Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Sorry but it didn't help.

    My motherboard is not running VIA chipset.

    information about my SOLTEK motherboard:

    Model:
    SL-87CW-FL


    Socket:
    Socket 478


    Chipset:
    Intel 875P Canterwood Chipset


    FSB:
    FSB 800/533/400 Mhz


    I/O:
    1 x Parallel / 1 x Serial / 1 x Floppy


    USB 2.0:
    4 x USB 2.0 at back/ Extra 4 at motherboard


    Firewire:
    2 x 1394 Standard


    AGP slot:
    AGP X8


    PCI slot:
    5 x PCI


    Ram socket:
    4 x DDR 400 Ram (Dual Channel)


    HDD controller:
    33/66/100 IDE Controller + Serial ATA


    Onboard controller:
    Promise Sata Raid Controller


    Onboard net:
    10/100/1000 Mbps Gigabit LAN


    Onboard sound:
    AC ' 97 6-channel


    Best Regards
    Danish TOPO
     
  5. VinylPush

    VinylPush Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sorry it didn't help DK-TOPO.

    Did you check whether any drives are using PIO mode (or Multi-Word DMA, as is sometimes the case)?
     
  6. DK-TOPO

    DK-TOPO Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    'Use DMA if available' is selected'

    And they are running:

    Ultra DMA. So nothings wrong here :(

    Any Ideas ?
     
  7. VinylPush

    VinylPush Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm quite stumped actually!

    I'm intrigued as to your exact IDE set-up (drivers installed, connection configuration).

    Are your 2 hard drives connected to the Promise PATA controller and the two burners connected to the two standard PATA controllers?

    If your HD's and/or burners share an IDE cable at any point, you may run in to problems when burning (though burning at 1X should work without a problem).

    In words of one syllable (i.e., so stupid me can understand) please can you describe your IDE setup (including drives which you think might not interfere)?

    Cheers.
     
  8. DK-TOPO

    DK-TOPO Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi again.

    My IDE setup.

    Well...

    I running the 2 HDD's on seperated cables.

    And the 2 burning drives are also on different cables.

    cable 1: HDD.
    Cable 2: HDD.
    Cable 3: DVD Burner + normal DVD drive.
    Cable 4: DVD Burner (the one with the STOP problems) + CD burner.

    The normal DVD drive and the CD burner are NOT making any problems. They are not i use at all when burning.

    I'm not using the onboard Raid controller.

    Cable 1 and Cable 3 are connected to the PCI controller.

    Cable 2 and Cable 4 are connected to the motherboard.

    All standard drivers are installed.
    I haven't patched any drives or the motherboard with firmware upgrades.

    Best Regards
    Danish TOPO

    BYW. thank you for helping :)
     
  9. VinylPush

    VinylPush Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I will sleep on it. The solution will present itself at some point, I'm sure :)
     
  10. VinylPush

    VinylPush Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well, seems my subconscious is not as all-powerful as I first thought.

    However, a good friend of mine just solved a very strange Nero specific problem (burned ISO's, but failed to create a new compilation) by updating his motherboard chipset drivers.

    I have had no experience of intel chipset drivers (since the BX chipset anyway) so I can't point you in the right direction unfortunately.

    The only other thing that just occurred to me was change your IDE cabling. There have been a few horror stories with people having all manner of random IDE problems which were eventually attributed to poor quality (or poorly designed) IDE cables.

    Some of those rounded ATA cables really are quite bad when it comes to the quality of data transmission.
     
  11. DK-TOPO

    DK-TOPO Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thx m8.

    I'll change my IDE cables.

    If it doesn't work I'll write back.

    Best Regards
    Danish TOPO.
     

Share This Page