1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

pixelating and freezing issue

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by maccaphil, Mar 12, 2011.

1. maccaphil

maccaphil Member

I am a newbie to this forum but not a newbie to burning, and I hope this question is in the correct area of your forum... I have Nero 6. When I have an avi file on my computer, I use convertxtodvd to convert the avi to a vob, which i then burn using Nero. Oftentimes, the resulting dvd either plays on my dvd player sometimes halfway but mostly most of the way through until the video starts to pixelate and then freeze altogether, obvious not allowing me to view the end of the movie/clip. I searched for a different program to convert and, although I found a couple that ADVERTISE they convert avi to vob, the resulting downloading of the new program and converting results in the new file being labelled as a vob but is not (not recognized as a vob by Convertxtodvd nor Dvd Shrink. So my questions: what could be causing the pexelating and freezing and is there any free program other than ConnectXtodvd that actually converts to vob that can be burned using Nero? Sorry for the long windedness!

2. attar

attar Senior member

ConvertX saves a copy of the output to a folder on the HDD?
    If you playback the folder using a media player, is the video ok.
    If the video is good when played back from the HDD, then it's not a problem with the conversion.
    If you play the disk on the PC (or the standalone player) and it pixelates, then look to the media you are using first.
    If you use a known to be consistently good disk (Verbatim are good, except for their Valueline series) you should see better results.
    Set the burn at half the maximum shown on the package.

A good, basic, converter/authoring program is either FAVC or DVD Flick.
    They both use ImgBurn to optionally burn the disk.