1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

pixle loss

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by limoman, Mar 18, 2007.

  1. limoman

    limoman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Having pixle and picture loss with proven back ups that have worked in past? Is there a dvd player that is better than the ordinary player? Had this problem with an older player and though my back ups were bad but it turned out to be the player itself. If anyone knows which player works best please let me know .
     
  2. SwitchFX

    SwitchFX Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Could be from compression, burn speeds, and others. Casino Royale looks bad on my 17 inch LCD monitor, but on my big screen it looks fantastic.
     
  3. 300bowler

    300bowler Regular member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Most if the time it is not the players it is the media.

    What brand of Media r u using?

    What speed do u burn at?

    What is the firmware for ur burner?
     
  4. limoman

    limoman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
     
  5. limoman

    limoman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    This is not the first time this has happened!I bought a new player and my back ups played with no problems for about a year? I back up with ( Icopydvd software ) the disks came from costco and the burn rate is 16x the burner is a sony . Case in point I backed up (The Guardian)last week,Iplayed it that day and it ran perfectly.Ran it again last nite with my girl friend and had pixle loss and skipped the last 5 min's???
     
  6. bbmayo

    bbmayo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    limoman,

    You probably need to go about backing up your movies at a new way.

    Burning speed is to high.
    IcopyDVD software is not the best software. (probably one of the worst)
    DVD Media I am not sure what brand you are using as you only mentioned you bought them from Costco, but you need to make sure you are buying quality media.

    Give this guide a try Pacmann777 guide and remember to burn at a slower speed a good rule of thumb around here is to burn at half of the rated speed of your discs so in your case burn at 8x.
     
  7. 300bowler

    300bowler Regular member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    just guessing but r u burning TDKs from costco?

    after u post saying u burn at 16x speed that is probably why it pixelates, just like bbmayo said 16x is way to fast.
     
  8. limoman

    limoman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for advice , from now on will burn at 8x . But I did go to best buy and bought a new dvd player (with hdmi ) and it plays the same dvd that I had problems with perfectly??? So every year I have to buy new dvd , its better than thowing away all my back ups . Thanks agin for the feed back - happy burning
     
  9. 300bowler

    300bowler Regular member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    have u ever tried a lens cleaner for the dvd player?
     
  10. limoman

    limoman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Humm now that you mention it no! Tahts easy to try though . The extra dvd is now in my office hooked up to a older tv so i will give that a try.Thanks agin sometimes the easy answer excapes me
     

Share This Page