1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Playing back-up PSX Games on a UNMODDED PS2

Discussion in 'PS2 - CD backup discussion' started by Zarisa, Oct 13, 2004.

  1. Zarisa

    Zarisa Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok I do have Swap Magic 3.2 cd and dvd AND I do know those don't work with it. So with that aside. I've heard that "Gameshark" works/allows me to play them some how. So thats where my question comes in. Which version of Gameshark allows me to play them and HOW do I do it? Step by Step please. My female Genes don't allow for me to know the in and outs of these systems. BUT DAMN I TRY!!! =). So if anyone can help me with this I would be MUCH Happy Joy Joy!

    Also my Psx2 is Version 7 SCPH-39001

    Thanks in advance for all your help boys and maybe a girl! =)

    Zarisa
     
  2. devilhunt

    devilhunt Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2004
  3. Zarisa

    Zarisa Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok.. but which game shark 1 2 or 3
    and how do i get it to work for me.
     
  4. jonjakjam

    jonjakjam Regular member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    you need gameshark2.
    Thats the only version for Ps1.
    Choose start game without codes, then use your fliptop/slidecard to swap for your Ps1 backup.
    simple right? =)
     
  5. Zarisa

    Zarisa Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Gameshark 2 for ps2? or Gameshark 2 for Ps1?
    I've only seen Gameshark 2 for ps2 in stores.
     
  6. jonjakjam

    jonjakjam Regular member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You need to use gameshark2 for PS1.
    GS2 comes as a 2 disk set.
    One disk for PS1 games and one for PS2 games =)
     
  7. Zarisa

    Zarisa Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok i ONLY found this one in stores.
    http://www.psreporter.com/ebgames.php?pid=233944
    seems to ONLY come with 1 Disc. not 2. it was version 4.0

    BUT they are also selling seperately. Playstation 1 gameshark Version 5.0 . Would that work?
     
  8. jonjakjam

    jonjakjam Regular member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    GS2v2 or less is what you need.
    I know v2 or less will work, havent tried higher versions so I cant recommend.
     
  9. james111

    james111 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i have gs2 v1 and v2 you need a modchip to use the gameshark for psx and ps2.
     
  10. jonels

    jonels Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    get "breaker pro" as it will enable you to run PS2 DVDrips as well as ps1 games
     
  11. Zarisa

    Zarisa Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    where can i locate "Breaker pro"?

    Thanks in advance.

    Zarisa
     
  12. maharito

    maharito Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hehe. I've been researching the exact same thing, Zarisa!~~ I too have a Flip Top Modded PS2, and have been wondering how to play Parappa the Rapper since my original game broke... *sniffle* (Well, someone has to have a 300-pound brother who doesn't watch where they walk...I'm not alone.....am I?)

    To help you confirm your facts, though... There are 5 different versions of the "Gameshark 2" for the PS2--Gameshark 2 V1, Gameshark 2 V2, and so on. There are also various versions of the "Gameshark", like Gameshark V1, Gameshark V2, and so on...and those are for the PS1.

    The PS1 Gameshark is not what you want. It seems that they don't work in the PS2. First off, the PS2 typically resets the console when you hit the eject button unless instructed to do otherwise. The PS1 Gameshark doesn't have that instruction, cuz hey, who cared about hitting the eject button on a PSX or PSOne? Also, even with the Flip Top, the PS1 Gameshark doesn't have any 'extra instruction' to defy PS2 protection schemes--only the older PS1 ones--so you could not boot any game you couldn't otherwise. (Dunno if PS1 Gameshark + Flip Top Mod works for entering cheats on original PS1 games...if it does, it's not that spectacular, really.)

    So, what you need is a "Gameshark 2". Like a couple folks said earlier, certain versions of the Gameshark 2 run PS1 games as well. These versions are "Gameshark 2 V1" and "Gameshark 2 V2." They do it because they have a PS2 "Gameshark disc" and a PS2 "Gameshark PS1 Archive disc." Both the discs are meant for the PS2, but the second one lets you boot PS1 games! How crazy is that??

    ...Well, crazy enough that Interact decided to remove it in V3...Mad Catz hasn't had any resurrection plans for it. So, look for a "Gameshark 2 V2" as they are the most common. A telltale sign for a Gameshark 2 V2 is that they talk about a "bonus disc with 2000/6000/13000 codes for the Playstation(c)". This is the second disc you want! So go for it!!

    Good luck! *And don't buy the one on eBay--lemme get it first! XD*
     
  13. maharito

    maharito Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I did some more research, just for you Zarisa!! <3

    ...er, oh wait, no, I'm just a penny pincher and was looking for a better deal. Nevermind.

    Hehe... Actually, two other common products can do exactly what the Gameshark 2 V2 "PS1 Archive Disc" can do.

    There is another Interact item, the Gameshark Lite, which even though is designed for the PSOne, apparently works for the PS2 as well!! (with Flip-Top)

    Also, for the Hong Kong pirate-flavored fix... The Breaker Pro! I've hunted around for it a bit, and just like the Gameshark Lite, it is designed for the PSOne but works with the PS2 + Flip-Top as well.

    That is, for either of these games, when it is time to swap in your PS1 game, you need to swap discs without hitting the Eject/Lame-Protection-Via-Reset button.

    Now, for the comparison...which I think other folks might be interested in, too... (this is a lot of hearsay, so take it at face value.)

    The Gameshark 2 has been reported by one person I've found to fail to load games. That is, you'll get the red ugly screen of nasty pointy teeth! However, this does not seem to happen all the time. (This person might have a dying PS2, so I personally would disregard it.) Both the Gameshark Lite and the Breaker Pro have not been reported to have game related problems, game-specific or otherwise.

    Now, for differences...

    The Gameshark 2 V2's PS1 Archive disc can't have new PS1 codes added. (But you do get a Gameshark 2 V2 out of the deal too, yknow. :p)

    The Gameshark Lite apparently does allow addition of codes (old-style PS1 codes)--in fact, unlike other PS1 Gamesharks, you can use any ordinary PS1 memcard to save your codes.

    The Breaker Pro reports that it can function as 'the TOC disc when loading with PS2.' What this means is that if you have an older version of Swap Magic (I have 3.0 and have not had problems loading large games...yet?) then you can Special Boot your CD Swap Magic to use the Breaker Pro as a 'TOC disc,' allowing you to boot very large (mainly DVDrip) PS2 CD games with Swap Magic, in addition to the standalone PS1 boot ability. **Sorry if that was kinda wordy. Basically, really big CD games for the PS2 can be gotten to work with the Breaker Pro too, which is a bonus.** Breaker Pro IS designed for the purpose of swapping. If that fact matters to you, then keep that in mind.

    The Gameshark Lite seems to be the cheapest of the bunch! You can find it for 5 bucks! Breaker Pro is almost always 20 bucks, and Gameshark 2 V2 in that range, maybe a little higher.

    Search for "Gameshark 2" or "Gameshark Lite" or "Breaker Pro" on eBay if you want... I prefer eBay myself, but if you want solid info and to purchase from a solid shop, try these links:

    http://www.ultimateconsoleguides.com/Breaker.htm
    http://store.bregames.com/Shop/Control/Product/fp/vpid/541453/vpcsid/0/SFV/14363

    (I was unable to find a place selling the Gameshark Lite. It's pretty old hat...but hey, look on eBay! There's tons there!)

    And as if it went without saying... None of these will work unless they are original 'pressed' disks. The only reason you would get one of these copied is if you wanted to, say, use a Gameshark2 for cheats on a PS2 that is already modchipped.

    Good luck and happy hunting!
     
  14. Lupin003

    Lupin003 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have the PS2 Gameshark 2 with the PS1 archive disk.

    The only game I've gotten it to work with via flip top lid is Street Fighter Alpha 3.

    I tried 3-4 other burns, and they didn't work. SFA3 has a really small TOC, so based on what I've learned from the PS2 swapping / flip topping / and boot disking, is that the Gameshark might only work if it has a larger TOC than the burned / ripped game you want to play.

    I could be wrong, but that's my best guess. And, you CAN'T insert a game (to boot up) with a large TOC file i.e. FF8 or Metal Gear Solid then get the drive to stop spinning so you can swap it with a burn with a smaller TOC.

    But, yes, I suppose there are other PS1 games that will work with this method, it's just not 100% by any means.

    -Lupy
     
  15. flip_top

    flip_top Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok heres what i need help with when do i replace the ps1 backup copy with the gameshark.2? cuz i have a flip top and i have the gameshark.2 so i put the gameshark 2 in adn then it loads up then what do i do to make it boot up a ps1 game?
     
  16. Lupin003

    Lupin003 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Load the Gameshark 2 PS1 disc, it will run through all the stupid loading videos and advertisements.

    When it gets to the game / code selection screen the gameshark disc will stop spinning.

    Pop the lid and replace the Gameshark disk with the copy. Select "start game with NO codes".

    As I stated earlier, the ONLY game I could get to work with this method, was Street Fighter Alpha 3 (which has a very small Table of Contents). So, while the method listed above is correct, it might not work for every game you have.

    -Lupy
     
  17. flip_top

    flip_top Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i only have gameshark 2 for ps2 whre can i get the ps 1 verison?
     
  18. flip_top

    flip_top Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    btw the disk does not stop spinning in the se;ect game area
     
  19. Lupin003

    Lupin003 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yeah, the Gameshark 2 PS2 disc WILL NOT work.

    You've got to have the BONUS Gameshark 2 PS1 disc. (it came with the earlier versions of the Gameshark 2)

    The version that I have stops spinning after it boots up. And, once again, like I said, it doesn't work with all PS1 games...

    So, you might want to look into the alternatives out there.

    -Lupy Tres
     
  20. flip_top

    flip_top Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok thanks lupin but wehre can i download gameshark2 ps 1 disc?
     

Share This Page