1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

playing back-ups, new xbox slim vs old model

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by ashnewto, Aug 3, 2011.

  1. ashnewto

    ashnewto Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi guys, (and girls)

    my flashed xbox has experienced the rrod for the second time, first time i got it fixed by a man near me who takes off gpu and re-balls it? (his lingo.. I'm no techie)
    This only worked for about 6 months and would cost me another £30quid to do again... i'm thinking of just buying a new xbox slim but have a few questions..

    i assume this one still over heats? and rrod? (or similar as i hear they've taken the red lights from it)

    is it possible to mod the new x-box slim to play backups or should i look at buying an older model?

    might even try to flash/mod it myself... managed my wii, it it the same difficulty?

    thanks in advance

    Ash
     
  2. BillB

    BillB Regular member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2003
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    wii soft mod = cakewalk
    keeping up with M$ dashboard updates, and firmware updates = Hell

    My best advice is to sit back and wait for teamjungle and c4eva to come up with a good solution. Now is not the time to flash 360s. Wait for the new firmware (LT+1.91) before you think about flashing your drive. You might need extra hardware depending on your motherboard's chipset. It's much different than modifying a wii. There are tons of threads on this forum alone to keep you reading for a while. If you read the Ultimate Stickies at the top of the 360 forum, you'll find about everything that you need to know.
     
  3. SONA007

    SONA007 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Which (Phat) xbox Model do you have ?
    The ones with Jasper MotherBoard and latest 93450c LiteOn Dvd Drives (Mfg. 2009 - 2010) are much stable and easier to flash compared to Slims.I have 2 of them (NTSC xbox - More Than 2 yrs old and Pal xBox -> Approx 1yr old ) and both were modded by me and working fine till date.My suggestion will be buy a Phat xBox 360 instead of buying an xbox slim.
     
  4. funksoulb

    funksoulb Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I'd also go with a Jasper fat. The slims are nicer and considerably quieter, but also harder to flash and some models can't be flashed yet. All fats can be flashed. Reliability of 360s improved drastically with the release of the Jasper revision and the slim models don't appear to have any inherent issues either outside of the small percentage of failures you would get with any electronics.

    As for flashing a fat, I recently bought a Maximus Lizard. It cost £60 for the kit, but it makes flashing any fat 360 a breeze. Once you've done the first firmware dump so you have a backup of the original firmware, all you need to do is connect the drive, select the option on the Lizard to erase the firmware, then select the option to write the latest LT+ (using your backup of your first firmware dump to get the drive key). It's quick and easy. The Lizard recognises your drive type and the Lizard software lets you download all of the latest LT+ firmware files in one go.

    The kit I bought came with a probe to get the drive key if the 360 has a Lite-On drive that requires one, but you only have to use that once and it's easy to use if you follow the guide on the Lizard website. It also came with a longer SATA cable for connecting the drive and a cable that sits between the DVD drive and the DVD drive power socket. The cable has a switch on it so you can easily power cycle the drive (which you have to do a couple of times in the flashing process).

    It's probably aimed at people who do modding for a living more than people like me, but if you were paying someone else to flash your 360, you'll save money in the long term by being able to flash it yourself and keep it up to date with the latest firmware.
     
  5. ashnewto

    ashnewto Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks guys!
     
  6. ashnewto

    ashnewto Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks guys, some really useful info here..

    I've started looking on ebay for a new "phat" xbox with jasper.. but how do i know what model i need? do i need to ask the for a serial number etc?

    I already have a hard drive so would i be ok getting an arcade version? (thats the only difference right?

    and i like the sound of buying something to do it myself funksoulb, £60 isn't so much on the scale of things.. especially if i can help a friend out with theirs to recover some of the cost. will have a look look into that!

    Ash
     
  7. funksoulb

    funksoulb Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    There are a couple of ways to identify a Jasper model, but perhaps the easiest is to ask the seller what Wattage the power supply is. There's a sticker on the bottom that says it. If it's 150 Watts, you're good to go.

    The Jaspers started trickling out to stores at the end of 2008, then in the UK at the start of 2009, so the manufacture date is also a big clue. If you can get one manufactured, say, in mid-2009 or later, there's a 99% chance of that being a Jasper. In fact, it's probably a 100% chance with a manufacture date that late.

    Your existing hard drive will just clip on, so you can get an Arcade. You'll need to do a license transfer on Xbox.com, to transfer the licenses of any content you've purchased from Xbox Live to the new console, so I'd advise you do that before you flash it.

    And yeah, regarding the Lizard, I sounded like a bit of a Lizard salesman in that last post, lol, but that's only because it's a really good tool for the job and it's easy to use. It's not the only product out there that you can buy, but it's pretty much foolproof and the £60 kit I got also came with the extra cables and stuff that gives you everything you need for flashing fat models.

    I'm no expert modder by any means, but the only advice I would give you is that the first time you dump the firmware, do it a couple of times to make sure the keys match up both times. As long as you know that the key is good and you've got it saved, you can't go far wrong. Oh yeah, get a case opening tool off eBay too as it makes popping the clips on the case a lot easier and it should come with the torx driver you need to get some of the screws out. If you go with the Lizard, all you need to do is follow the guides available on their site and once you've done it once or twice, you'll see how easy it is. Likewise with JungleFlasher if you decide not to go with the Lizard. The guide on the JungleFlasher site is excellent and walks you through every step.
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2011
  8. ashnewto

    ashnewto Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    invaluable info funksoulb,

    having a look for Xbox's now.. seen a deal actually for Final "Fantasy XIII Super Elite Bundle" 130 quid..

    i can sell the game and two controllers and would make it cheaper than the arcade console I've seen at £120!

    just gotta find the dates manufactured. cant even find cheaper on ebay.

    then will look into flashing it! the kit you mentioned sounds good though, where you get it?

    Ash
     
  9. ashnewto

    ashnewto Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    sorry one more question now before i buy it.. its an xbox elite.. there's no problems with this i take it? its still applies as a phat version?

    release date is march 2010 aswell!
     
  10. funksoulb

    funksoulb Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    That FFXIII console is a Jasper, no question.

    All fat 360s are pretty much the same in terms of functionality and using hard drives/accessories with them. The only differences are these: -

    1. The hardware revisions (internal changes and power consumption) such as Xephyr, Falcon, Jasper etc., with the Jasper being the last (most recent) of the fat hardware revisions.

    2. Early 360s had no HDMI port - not an issue for you though.

    3. Arcade units have either 256MB or 512MB of internal flash memory, as they came with no hard drive or memory unit. This doesn't affect you using a hard drive though.

    4. The colour of the case.

    5. Bundled games (if any) and accessories, for instance, an Arcade doesn't come with the wired headset, but the Elite does.

    6. The type of DVD drive used. A fat Jasper will almost certainly have a Lite-On drive.

    So any Jasper fat will be fine for your needs, regardless of whether it comes with internal memory, a hard drive or whatever, because your hard drive and all existing accessories you might own will work with it.

    I got my Lizard kit from a site called Red Box Mods. I don't know if they're the cheapest, but that was the only place I could find them in stock in the UK and their price seemed pretty much the same as everywhere else. I got no email to say that the Lizard was despatched, but it turned up a couple of days after ordering and they take PayPal, so you've got some protection there if it doesn't show up, although they're an official distributor for Maximus products.
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2011
  11. ashnewto

    ashnewto Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    for some reason couldn't buy that xbox i wanted.. it was advertised but they were not selling it.. weird!

    i know what i need now though thanks!

    i looked at that lizard kit, is it just a box? i'm guessing i need other pieces of equipment to actually mod the xbox?..

    i tried to find a thread for complete noobs but couldn't find one?

    i also looked at the jungle (correct me if i'm wrong) one which consisted of this.. (copied and pasted)

    x360USB PRO MEGA BUNDLE #1 -

    Kit Includes:

    •XECUTER X360USB PRO (with case)
    •XECUTER CK3 PRO (REV D)
    •XECUTER CK3 PROBE 3
    •XECUTER HDD ADAPTER (PHAT DRIVES)
    •XECUTER XT ADAPTER
    •XECUTER UNLOCK KIT V2 (PHAT MODELS)

    guessing this is all i need? and was only 5quid more.. do they work in similar ways?

    i noticed a "X360USB PRO – Special Jungle Edition".. does this cut out the need for opening the xbox? and using all the kit above?

    obviously WHEN i pick which on I'll get a guide with it (i hope!)

    thanks
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2011
  12. funksoulb

    funksoulb Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    The Lizard comes with everything you need, apart from a case opening tool: -

    The actual Lizard box of tricks
    USB cable to connect it to your PC
    SATA cable to connect it to the DVD drive
    DVD drive power cable with a switch on it (makes it easier to power cycle the drive)
    A Scorpion 2 probe

    You don't 100% have to buy a case opening tool, but it makes it a lot easier and you'll need a torx driver anyway (which comes with the opening tool). They're only £2.99 on the Red Box site, so I would recommend getting one.

    The pictures on the Red Box Mods site are a bit deceiving regarding that Lizard kit cos they show one of the Lizard, then one of the electronics inside the Lizard, rather than what you actually get, but if you read the description further down you'll see what comes with it.

    I looked into the same kit that you've just posted about, but after asking about it on a couple of forums (including here), most people recommended the Lizard so I went with that.
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2011
  13. ashnewto

    ashnewto Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Your a good man,

    thanks for perceiving with me.. gone completely with your advice!
    "won" an Xbox at 7.20am today on eBay with a 2010 date for 102.00 quid (with fifa 11 = sell shop here i come!)

    plus bought Xbox unlocking tool.. from eBay! (big fan! :) about £1.50) i have opened it a few times before but for 1.50 may as well make it easier.. to be fair i got a torx set already in the tool box but this can add to my tool kit!

    And just bought the lizard.. found a diff website though, did a search for uk sellers... there was only two! one you mentioned and one i got it from and one i got it from "teensy" there was no p&p costs! saves a fiver.. thanks for everything mate

    Ash
     
  14. funksoulb

    funksoulb Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    No worries mate! It sounds like you've got everything you need now and the new firmware came out just last night, so you should be back up and running in no time.
     
  15. ashnewto

    ashnewto Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    got my stuff today! well exited and was shocked there was nothing in the box in way of instructions! found them on the net though.

    getting through most of it.. (well not really but following the steps).

    one thing i don't know is how to actually set it up.. do you use the x-box power supply? so taking the cable out of xbox and plugging it into the "power drop?" it just comes with a general warning on the website?

    Also do you use the stand alone option? i cant find my micro sd card apart from my blackberry one.. it says it should be empty though right?

    otherwise i can just plus usb into the pc and use it that way?

    hoping you can help
     
  16. funksoulb

    funksoulb Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I use the 360 for powering the drive. There is a theory that this may lead to the console being flagged because at certain points the 360 is powered on, but the drive is off, but this has never been proven.

    If you're connecting the Lizard to a PC or laptop, you don't need the microSD card as the firmware is dumped to your PC, plus the custom firmware is transferred from your PC too.

    Here's the connections: -

    Lizard to DVD drive using SATA cable
    DVD drive to 360 power on the motherboard using the "power drop" cable with the switch on it
    Lizard to PC using USB cable
    Connect the probe to the legs of the chip if you need to use it

    Also, make sure you have a video cable plugged into your 360 when you turn it on, otherwise it'll turn itself off after a short time.

    If you follow the instructions in the PDF manual on the Lizard website (HERE), it's straightforward. The only way you can really mess it up is if you erase the firmware without dumping the key first, but the Lizard prompts you several times to ask "are you sure??" when you are at the erase stage, so it's hard to mess that up! As I said before, it's a good idea to dump the key a couple of times the first time you do it, to make sure the key is the same every time.

    When you dump the firmware for the first time (and as long as you're sure the key is good), keep a backup of it. That way, you'll only have to use the probe the very first time you do it (if you have to use it at all, cos it depends on the drive type). With subsequent flashes, all you need to do then is connect everything up (minus the probe), erase the firmware, then write the new firmware that has the key in it taken from your original firmware backup.
     
  17. ashnewto

    ashnewto Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    making really good progress setting it up, but it wont switch on, I'm at the stage testing if power is going to the scorpion.. and its not? the only thing i need to do it turn the power on the power drop? not on the console right?

    its not working? i have checked all the connections?

    am i missing something?
     
  18. Modking30

    Modking30 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Then you don't have the grabbers connected properly. I modded my lizard for PMT so the grabbers aren't needed which makes life much easier. If you bought a lizard, you should really read the manual here: http://www.360lizard.com/website/downloads.php
     
  19. ashnewto

    ashnewto Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i cant see that there is a wrong way to have the grabbers?

    i have read that manual (and the actual guide for the drive i have) all last night and then tonight when i am putting it to use, http://www.360lizard.com/website/downloads/Tutorial1-FlashingAllLiteonswScorpion_V1.2_EN.pdf

    .. I've got them the right way round red in the middle and black to the edge closest to end of board.. tried numerous ways to make them grab... i'm supposed to get it behind that pin right? there's a little gap for me to grab... (its not specific in the guide)

    is there a way i can check there is power to everything else? and not just the scorpion? just to check its not a connection somewhere else?.. i hate learning new things :-s

    ty
     
  20. Modking30

    Modking30 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Where did you get the lizard? Vgc? You may want to contact ED if it isn't working. He'll help you and make it right if it's bad.
     

Share This Page