1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Playing DVD copies on standalone player

Discussion in 'DVD±R for advanced users' started by luukass, Sep 29, 2003.

  1. luukass

    luukass Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    have spent days trying to slove this problem by looking through fourms and other website but I have had no luck.

    MY SYSTEM

    2.2 GHz Celeron
    640 Meg RAM
    20 Gigs of free hard drive
    Sony DVD RW DRU-500A (actually white box but I have installed all firmware upgrades)

    MEDIA

    Blank CD Technology, INC DCD-R 4x
    Movie: The big lebowski

    THE PROCESS

    Rip with DVDshrink
    Put all files in VIDEO_TS folder
    Burn folder and all with Nero 6 Burning Rom

    THE PROBLEM

    I have tried this two ways, as a DVD-ROM UDF/ISO and as a DVD-ROM UDF. Both ways work on my computer but neither work on my standalone (SONY DVP S360). When I put it in the player it flashes C 13:00 in the corner of the screen.

    At first I was trying to use DVD XCOPY Express but I would get the "error writing disc" problem that i had read about and simply moving the dialog to the side and allowing the burn to finish didn't work. It would play in the standalone at first but then would skip and stop playing.

    I have also tried "Record Now Max" but i got an error saying "disc exited with errors and the sector number"

    Does anyone know what the problem is. I want the DVD backups to be playable in the standalone player. Is there another software I should try? DVD xcopy express at least played on the standalone a little bit so I don't think it is the media....

    I did a lot of searching and couldn't find a problem like this one but I might have missed it.

    Thanks
     
  2. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi

    on your UDF/ISO what version was it? v1.02?

    Thx...

    EDIT did you have joiet ticked or unticked? what about mode 1 or 2 iso? and relax settings were they ticked?

    thx...

    have youmade any that work on this stand alone you have? is it dvd-r or +_X_X_X_X_X_[small]XP 1700 TBred [o/c 2004mhz = 12X167/33 = FSB-334mhz]
    A7V8X SATA150/RAID 2x80 gig [Bios 1012]
    HERCULES 3D PROPHET [9700 Pro]
    XMS Corsair Platinum pc3500 2x512 1024 meg
    ENERMAX PSU 550watts
    [​IMG] [/small]
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2003
  3. luukass

    luukass Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi

    It was set for UDF v. 1.02

    joiet was unchecked

    Max of 31 chars (ISO LEVEL 2)

    ISO 9660

    Relax ISO settings
    allow path depth of more then 8 directories is CHECKED
    allow more then 255 characters in path is CHECKED
    do not at the ';1' ISO file version extension is UNCHECKED

    the relax joiet file extensions is not availiable becasue the joiet is not checked


    I hope that is all the info you need
    I really apreciate your help
     
  4. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

    No Multi-session ??

    I think I have Nero as ISO1

    ...other than that your settings look correct

    NO MULTI-SESSION is important tho ; )
     
  5. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

    Also if using Nero 6 , get Express version open & just hit DVD-Video then click on red VIDEO_TS folder and then [add] VOB BUP IFO files

    Nero doesnt need the folder as it already has it !
     
  6. luukass

    luukass Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yes I am using no multi session

    should I be using ISO 1

    and if I use express I don't need to add the folder?
     
  7. luukass

    luukass Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I just tried burning with Nero 6 Express and I got an error that says "write failed (4x)"

    Tomorrow I will try using ISO 1

    any more advice or sugestions
    is any other software any better or are there always problems like this?
     
  8. DSYF3R

    DSYF3R Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The first question should be, is your standalone player capable of reading burn't discs? (some, especially the expensive one's don't) secondly if it can read them which format +R or -R (some can read both, some only one format), I would check this first before burning any more discs.
     
  9. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
  10. koola

    koola Guest

    For alternative software, use CloneDVD and AnyDVD.

    CloneDVD for the transcoding and AnyDVD for the decryption.

    Enjoy :D
     
  11. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Yeah, this does sound like a player problem. Check trouble shooting of your player to see what that code means?
     
  12. Kilroy

    Kilroy Guest

    I have a similar problem, none of my DVD copies that I made with DVD XCopy will play in my new Toshiba SD-3950 stand alone player. It gets on the "LEGAL BACKUP" start screen, and just freezes there...anyone else seen this problem?
     
  13. maxxum7xi

    maxxum7xi Guest

    Kilroy
    I have the same problem. Freezes on the 123 backup warning. Player in 2003 Honda van. Have you come up with a way to thaw this freeze??
    Eric
     
  14. yuedana

    yuedana Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    kilroy and maxxum
    your problem is dvdxcopy. Since you can't change the standalone,(especially you maxxum) you need to find an alternative. I have the honda pilot with dvd entertainment system (panasonic dvd player) and it did not play the xcopyexpress backups. I changed to dvd shrink and recordnow (Nero is probably fine) and I have had no problems at all.

    Your problems are not really related to this thread and should be in a new thread to get better help.
     
  15. Kilroy

    Kilroy Guest

    You are right. I stopped using DVDXCopy and went to DVD Shrink and Nero, and now I can play them on my Toshiba..
     
  16. TomiP

    TomiP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have used DVD Shrink and nero originaly but that gave me problems so I looked up http://www.chrismccann.co.uk and there I found how to use Record Now Max properly. Try follow this guide EXACTLY making sure you set the settings properly as one setting in particular (Closed , track at once) is a very important setting in order to be playable on standalone players.
     

Share This Page