1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Playstation: Install PC HD

Discussion in 'PS2' started by gobonium, Nov 17, 2003.

  1. gobonium

    gobonium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i've seen a few threads on this topic, but found no definite answers.
    i heard from a friend it is possible to modify a normal pc hd and use it to directly backup games, thus skipping the need for dvd-/+r media.
    if anyone has any information please let me know.
     
  2. Cyprien

    Cyprien Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    mod the pc?... i dont follow here.... you mean like dumping the dvd content to pc? as files? that can be done no mod needed but how will you boot the game on the ps2? i mean you backup game to the pc then what?... lol... sorry for my retardnes here... but why would you want back up games by only dumping it to the pc?... the ps2 dosent boot from hdd... only from the medias and pc hdd aint a media lol... it's not like xbox lol...
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2003
  3. gobonium

    gobonium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    no... what i mean is, is it possible to modify a normal pc hd to attach directly to a ps2 (no pc required) and dunp games onto them so they run... very much like a xbox.
     
  4. colburn

    colburn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I know its possible to hook a pc HD to the ps2 via network adapter, Im not so sure about playing ps2 games straight off of the HD yet, but im sure this will work very soon. Check this out, i think it only works with the dms3 v2.0 though,

    http://www.dms3.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1886
     
  5. gobonium

    gobonium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks alot buddy. i got the dms3 up to date and all.
    any more information is appreciated.
     
  6. colburn

    colburn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    no prob, all the info i found is in that link i gave you, the dms3 website, check back there every now and then, im sure they will update it with more info. Hey, im going to be installing a dms3 v2.0 in my v7 this week, any tips or advice you can give me, how did you install go? Thanks man,
     
  7. gobonium

    gobonium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i got the same rig running. v7 w/ dms3. i got someone to install it for me. actually, i have never sodered anything in my life so the best advice i can give you is to invest in a clip which cuts down the number of wires you need to soder. http://modchip.ca/products/ps2/magic3_clip.php
     
  8. colburn

    colburn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ive heard bad things about clips, so im just gonna suck it up and deal with the 23 wires, it will be well worth it.
     
  9. gobonium

    gobonium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    to each their own. i wish you the best of luck.
    do you know how to use the divx player on the dms3? i've tried downloaded it and putting it on cd and updting the memory card but nothi9ng happens... maybe you know.
     
  10. colburn

    colburn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    nope got no clue, thanks though, hopefully the install will go well, i think it will.
     
  11. gobonium

    gobonium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    have you copied any dvd games? i have a lg dvd-r/w.
    and i've used virtually every program to burn games but i've only succed with nhl2k4
    any tips?
     
  12. colburn

    colburn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    nope dont have a dvd burner yet, im going to get one soon though, im tryin to pick a cheap one up off ebay. Know where i can get a cheap one at?
     
  13. gobonium

    gobonium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    futureshop has one for $150Can
     

Share This Page