1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please assist - at wits end on a roller "coaster"

Discussion in 'DVD±R media' started by slammer68, Oct 20, 2004.

1. slammer68

slammer68 Guest

Can anyone assist me with help on suggested media for lg GSA-4120b writer that won't freeze/jerk on playback on Samsung DVD 540 Combo?

Have read various threads and you all seem to know what you are talking about! I have just ordered branded Ritek G04's, but have tried various media....all of which burn fine, but not one playback without freeze/jerk at some stage...... I am desperate for help..Anything will be of assistance.. note: I am a complete newbie, so go easy on me ;)

2. RicTheRed

RicTheRed Guest

slammer
    Can you elaborate about the freeze/jerk problem you have? When it happened, early, at the end, etc.
    Solution might be different :)

3. slammer68

slammer68 Guest

RicTheRed

Cheers for the assist! Gotta say first up that all my backups appear to play fine on PC. However (and depending on the media used) the freeze usually hits about 30-40 minutes into the playback. Play seems to jump forward to a point my samsung combo can read, then get differing results after that.

Eg using Verbatim Datalife plus -R media, plays fine until about 30-40 minutes in, freezes, jumps forward then I don't seem to get any more problems (it's just annoying!). TDK, shintaro, nec -R media I get various freeze/jumps after the first time (again usually about 30-40 minutes in). None of the 15 discs burnt to date play on my PS2 - most freeze straight away (1st 10 seconds)or after a few minutes of playback.

All DVD's backed up using DVD Decriptor, ifoedit, and burnt mostly with imgtoolburn, however the last 2 attempts I used CloneDVD2 - but this didn't seem to improve playback. 1st 5 or 6 burnt at x4, but the rest have been at x2 and then x1 - but again no dramatic improvement. Any suggestions?

4. RicTheRed