1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

please don't kill me - i'm a total newb wanting to know about the best brands.........

Discussion in 'DVD±R media' started by brick, Mar 2, 2004.

1. brick

brick Member

i know i need to read a million things on this site.....i just want to get some blanks and want to start out on the right foot!

please humor my noobness and let me know what are the highest rated brands for durability and compatibility

also.....should i use +R or -R

man....i'm sure you peeps get asked this WAY too many times so i'm apologizing ahead of time!

thanks much! :)

2. drchips

drchips Active member

Hiya,

Depends on many things:

1 - Does your player support +, - or both?
    2 - Player make/model
    3 - Does your writer support +, - or both?
    4 - Writer make/model
    5 - Are the copies going to be played on PS2/XBOX ?
    6 - Are the copies going to be played on other players?
    7 - Other player make/model

Need more info.

Byeeee...

3. DaOsT

DaOsT Regular member

kk gives ya basics

-r is compatable on 90% of machines
    +r is compatable on 85 % of machines
    +r is apparently better slightly than -r but I never seen a difference

+/-r well its a no brainer -r is FAR FAR cheaper than +r

I personally saw today 25 dvd-rs for 31p a piece n I know they are cool My brother bought n burned 2 tonite

4. Preyzuess

Preyzuess Regular member

I would suggest Ritek Media either + or - depending on your drive. If your drive can do both go with the - if not then use the + .
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]2 PIONEER A07 / 107 8x ±
    2 TDK 440n 4x ±
    RITEK RULES !!!!
    Best way to backup that movie
    1 DVD Decrypter
    2 DVD2one
    3 Nero 6.3[/small]

Last edited: Mar 2, 2004
  5. brick

brick Member

DaOst.....what is "kk"???