1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please help a noob out w/HDD

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by pooman, Feb 3, 2005.

  1. pooman

    pooman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I've read past threads and was just making sure I get this straight. I have an unmodded SCPH-30001 and was planning on getting the Network adapter, HD Loader, and a Maxtor 80gb HD (6Y080P0). I looked at the PS2 HDD compatability chart and it fits and works.

    Is BYTECC a respectable brand for an external enclosure? I was looking at this one: ME-320U2.

    So is that all I need to get everything up and running? Thanks.
     
  2. sirandyb

    sirandyb Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    y do you need the enclosure. the internal hd fits in the expansion bay slot in the back of your ps2...
     
  3. pooman

    pooman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well that raises another question:
    How exactly do I transfer games onto the HD? I was going to use the enclosure to go from PC to the PS2 HD. I've read that it's required to do that for imports (I want to be able to play Guitar Freaks/Drummania). What other ways are there?
     
  4. pooman

    pooman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Oh and I also wanted to know what's better: HD Advance 2.0 or HD Loader? Thanks.
     
  5. sirandyb

    sirandyb Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i would say hdadvance 2.0 is better it enables a bigger hdd also its the newer version. can you not rent out the proper version of Guitar Freaks/Drummania from a video shop and stick it on the hdd that way???
     
  6. pooman

    pooman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well I'll probably want other imports as well so that's why I want to know how you actually transfer the games besides PC to HD.

    But yeah how exactly do you rip games onto the HD?
     
  7. sirandyb

    sirandyb Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    all you have to do is let the hdadvance cd load then select convert on the right then press the disk open/eject button on the ps2 put in your game that you want to rip on to the hd and click ok then put in the name of the game in and click convert. that simple, you can put games on one after the other without reloading the HDadvance disk but somtimes it says not enough space on hd just ignore this and try again and it will work. if when a game is ripped onto the hdd and you try to run it but all you get is a black screen then restart with the HDadvance cd in and highlight the game that makes it go to a black screen and press the select button on it and enable all three modes u'll know what i mean when you do it(you will only need to do this once for each game that gives you the black screen as the hd remembers it thereafter) hope this helps.
     
  8. pooman

    pooman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks sirandyb for all your help. Ok now I've heard that I actually don't need the HD Advance but instead use my memory card to exploit it. What exactly does that mean? Thanks again.
     
  9. pozza50

    pozza50 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi i have the network adapter and the hard drive i was wondering if there is any way to download HD advance and burn to a disk instead of buying it and if u can can some one please PM the link or send it to gwil4060@bigpond.net.au
     
  10. sirandyb

    sirandyb Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    theres loads of threads on how to do it you need to download a lot of stuff and you need to have a way of playing backups on your ps2. search all the ps2 forums for other threads on this because it's all there.
     

Share This Page