1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please help! Cannot copy home-made DVD

Discussion in 'DVD±R for advanced users' started by ddeg10, Jan 11, 2007.

  1. ddeg10

    ddeg10 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I reformatted my hard drive last week and therefore lost all of the source files for a home-made DVD of a family trip that I created. I DID however, burn one copy of this DVD before I reformatted. I realized I lost the source files but thought I could simply copy the DVD with Nero, DVDDecrypter, or DVDShrink. No such luck. I get read errors with both of my DVD burners (so it's not a hardware issue). I have told all of the programs to ignore read errors but the program will not continue. The disc is not dirty, has only been played a couple of times, and plays perfectly on all DVD players I've tried it on. This just doesn't make sense to me. Any suggestions?
     
  2. binkie7

    binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    18,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Hi ddeg10
    1st check and make sure both burners have the most recent firmware.

    Media can go down hill and this may be your problem. Which brand did you use?
    A player is more forgiving then a burner ripping - it tries to rip every byte where a player may just pass over it w/o you noticing anything

    You can try isobuster.
     
  3. geburuh

    geburuh Regular member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Is this a video or photos?
     
  4. ddeg10

    ddeg10 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The DVD is a TDK DVD+R. It's a video. The burners have the most recent firmware. I tried "Isobuster" with no luck. The DVD will copy fine for the first 3% and then it slows down and cannot read further.
     
  5. geburuh

    geburuh Regular member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Try cleaning anyway--windex or =.
    Mild dish soap-do not rub in circles.
    After cleaning--do not touch the burn area.
    Good luck
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2007
  6. slmh1296

    slmh1296 Guest

    I may be off base here but is your DMA settings correct and did you reinstall the ASPI drivers. When you said slowed down this popped in my head, but I feel funny saying this because binkie7 definitely knows whats up.
     
  7. binkie7

    binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    18,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Good point slmh1296 - should check the mode the drives are in. After so many read errors (internal drives) will revert to pio mode.

    Another option to try & copy these discs would be a dvd recorder - if you have one or have access to one. Just have a regular dvd player hooked up - pop a blank in the dvd recorder -play w/ the dvd player and record w/ the recorder - will just record in real time.

    TDK uses different manufacturers and some aren't very good - sounds like you may have gotten one of the bad ones.
    Use Verbatim or made in Japan Sony, Fuji or Maxell.
     
  8. Plasmon

    Plasmon Guest

    I just read all the posts and a "little light" suddenly beamed on.
    I too had a similar problem with home made dvd's. I burned several
    dvd's using Nero 6. SOmetimes they would work on some of the "older"
    dvd players, and sometimes they would hang. I decided that I needed
    to re-record them. Using DVD Decryptor and Shrink, they would both
    get about 308% into the copy mode and quit working. Could not make
    a direct copy using Nero. I purchased a copy of Clone2DVD and
    decided "what the hell" will try it instead of trying to re-record
    or just 'forget it'. Lo and behold, Clone took the dvd's and re-made
    the dvd's. They now work in the newest players and also in some of
    the older (cyberlink 300) players. Just a thought. Saved me a whole
    bunch of time and lost sanity.
     
  9. ddeg10

    ddeg10 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    OK I've tried cleaning the disc and also CloneDVD2, neither without any luck. I went into device manager to see if I could find out if the drive was in DMA mode but I wasn't able to find that information in the device properties.
     
  10. geburuh

    geburuh Regular member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Go into my computer & right click on the drive that the disk is in.
    go to explore & left click--does your drive show anything on the disk?
     
  11. ddeg10

    ddeg10 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yes, it lists the VIDEO_TS folder and there are several VOB, IFO, and BUP files.
     
  12. geburuh

    geburuh Regular member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Maybe you can go back to the program that created the DVD
    & make another copy from there?
     
  13. binkie7

    binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    18,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Here's a guide to show you where to check the DMA mode for your drives.
     
  14. geburuh

    geburuh Regular member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    @ddeg10
    If you click on vob in your last post, it will give you a good guide on how to burn your video.
    Have fun
     
  15. geburuh

    geburuh Regular member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    @binkie7
    I had to try it or it would not have "made my day"
    Windows are much more fun than the "dos" I had at work.
     
  16. ddeg10

    ddeg10 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I found that the IDE channel that my DVD writer was on had actually been running in PIO mode (doh)! It is now running in Ultra DMA Mode 2, is that the correct setting?

    I still get read errors on the DVD unfortunately. I'm thinking the only thing that will salvage this disc would be binkie's idea about copying it in real time with a DVD recorder. Unfortunately I don't have one but I may have to try and locate one.




     
  17. binkie7

    binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    18,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    @geburuh
    lol - yes windows are much more fun :)

    @ddeg10
    Yes Ultra DMA 2 mode is right.
    You can get a higher mode of 4 if your burner(s) supports it (most newer ones do) and you use a ata 133 ide cable.
    The drive(s) probably slipped in PIO after getting all the read errors trying to rip this disc.

    Yeah I think the only way this disc can be copied is using the dvd recorder. At least the disc still plays on a play - that's a plus.
     
  18. ddeg10

    ddeg10 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks everyone for all your help and suggestions.
     
  19. geburuh

    geburuh Regular member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Take your disk to your favorite computer store( w/some blanks)
    Ask for a free"demo" of how good their machine really is.
     

Share This Page