1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please Help, DVD-R films on PS2

Discussion in 'PS2' started by elclubber, Mar 28, 2003.

  1. elclubber

    elclubber Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi All,

    I've done a search for the above and couldn't find anything so here's a post.

    I've just bought a DVD-RW and wonder if i need to chip my PS2 before I can play backup DVD-R films?

    Cheers in advance folks
     
  2. fluk

    fluk Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    you need to chip it and get a boot disc.
    Something like a no solder chip and swap magic v2 will do it, should cost you about £25.00
     
  3. elclubber

    elclubber Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks for the quick response mate.

    Was thinking a no solders mod chip would be enough but was wanting some confirmation.
     
  4. c7015

    c7015 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    actually fluk thtas not true. You dont need to mod your ps2 to play copied movies.

    (also if you do decide to mod your ps2 dont go with a no solder chip)
     
  5. elclubber

    elclubber Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    weehay thats even better news.

    I'm still wanting to chip my PS2, what chip would you suggest rather than the no solders one, i was really looking for the least hassle when installing :)
     
  6. telescope

    telescope Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    702
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    As i also want my PS2 to be chipped
    i hav gathered a lot information about chips from the net
    Came to a conclusion dont go for Magics or DMS3
    Just go for either messiah 2 pro or messiah itself they r good
    As i hav heard a lot issuesss regarding Magic3.0/3.1 they r good but i will go for messiah
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2003
  7. c7015

    c7015 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Magic 3.1 and messiah 2 pro are both good chips basically the equal of each other when the magic 3.1 is installed right so either chip is a good bet you might want to make your decision based on the installer (if you are doing it yourself it dosent mater but if you can only find someone who will install a magic chip I would sudgest you go with that)
     
  8. princy1

    princy1 Guest

    Have got a messiah chip personally, slightly expensive but worth every penny if you asked me. The good thing about these and the magic chip is you won't need a boot disc or to disc swap during boot-up. It will play backed up games (dvd or cd) and any region dvd's including any region dvd-r's, pretty much anything you stick in it, it will play.
     

Share This Page