1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please help....I'm ready to try it....

Discussion in 'PS2' started by TENPOINT, Nov 15, 2002.

  1. TENPOINT

    TENPOINT Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I think I am ready to try this. I have a ps2 with a no solder chip. I can play copied cd games with no problems. I just got a dvd burner. I also updated my nero software to 5.5.9.17. And I got a pile of blank dvd-r's in front of me. Is there a special way I have to burn the dvd's with nero or can I just do a disc copy. Ive seen a bunch of threads about burning an image. Do I need to do this?
    I have also read here that playing backed up DVD's will not work with a no solder mod chip. Is this true? thanks for any help
     
  2. TENPOINT

    TENPOINT Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I forgot to mention, I have a dvd rom and a dvd-r in the same machine. Do I still need to copy the image or can I burn right to the writer?
    Thanks again!
     
  3. Wizkid

    Wizkid Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I have a messiah chip, so i don't know if i can help you, but:
    I burn my DVD-rom PS2 games with Nero (5.5.9.17)and do not touch any settings. Just copie DVD on the fly(1:1). No imagefile. I burn these games on DVD+r with my HP DVD+r/rw 200i. It takes about 15-20 minutes. I cannot use DVD+rw's.
    You said you have a pile of blank DVD-r's in front of you so i suggest to give it a try !

    Good luck and let me know.

    The messiah rules..
     
  4. Wizkid

    Wizkid Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    No Image !
    game in DVD player and DVD-r (in your case)in DVD-writer.
    Go on, give it a try !

     
  5. Wizkid

    Wizkid Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Hint:
    Look with your Explorer how many GB the game is.
    If it is under 4.7Gb its ok.
    If its bigger it wont fit on a DVD-r 4.7Gb.

    So check first
     
  6. Wizkid

    Wizkid Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Here is some info about the no solder Modchip
    from www.modchip.com

    The world´s first No Solder ModChip for the PlayStation 2!
    The No Solder ModChip is compatible with V4,V5 and V6 PS2 Consoles.

    Absolutely No soldering required!
    Easy installation - Plug n Play Technology!
    Works Perfect with all PS2 CD-R and DVD-R
    Backups!
    Works Perfect with PS1 Backups!
    GameShark 2 or ActionReplay 2 is required!
    For V4,V5 and V6 PlayStation 2 consoles!

    So it says it is possible to play DVD-r backups
     
  7. Wizkid

    Wizkid Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
  8. FreddyZ

    FreddyZ Guest

    I had a question for Wizkid.With the use of the Messiah chip when you get ready to load a backup game or original do you have to press rest after the tray closes to begain game play?
     
  9. Smartman1

    Smartman1 Guest

    I have a little problem. When i was recording my ps1 game with cdrwin i error message popped up and said: Error: unable to read AUDIO sectors 71704 to 71730 on device 2:0:0 Illegal command request (04h 00h 02h 05h 63h 00h) please can anyone tell me a way to fix this problem. Thanks.
     
  10. Wizkid

    Wizkid Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Close the tray with your backup.
    Turn the PS2 of and turn it on again (now it is in standby - red light)
    press 1x reset and get started....!!!
    For DVD movies it is the same only press 2x (fast) reset and watch .... !!!
     
  11. Smartman1

    Smartman1 Guest

    I understand that, but my question was, this error came up while recording on cdrwin. So i tried using clone cd and it successfully copied. So i tried it in my ps2(don't have a modchip yet) and it would only let me play the sound track. Do you think it will let me play the game if i get a modchip or will it do the same thing and just play the sound track. thanks.
     
  12. Wizkid

    Wizkid Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Okee Smartman1 i was just answering the question from FreddyZ, but okee.
    Yes you will need a mod chip to play copied CD's or DVD's games.

     

Share This Page