1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

***PLEASE HELP!! Metal Gear Solid 3 copy problem***

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by iamssgoku, Jan 21, 2005.

  1. iamssgoku

    iamssgoku Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I just got Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater for PS2. Normally when I copy my games I simply use Nero 6 and I go to 'copy disc' and copy it. For some reason I've tried copying mgs3 twice, once using a Maxwell dvd-r and once using a Memorex dvd-r, and both of them won't work. I used Nero both times, and I have the swap magic disc and slide card for my PS2. The original works though. Is there some sort of new protection that is causing this with Metal Gear Solid 3???
     
  2. iamssgoku

    iamssgoku Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    anybody experience the same problem???
     
  3. HeyYoWL

    HeyYoWL Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm not sure on this one, but I heard MGS 3 was on DVD-9. Meaning it's an 8gb game. There are no ways for you to back it up yourself at the moment since you can't burn 8gb discs yet.
     
  4. Balaam

    Balaam Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    MGS3 is a DVD5, not DVD9. Try using better media is my only advice. The stuff you're using ain't that great.
     
  5. iamssgoku

    iamssgoku Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thats interesting, but that sucks. I didn't even know they had games out that were too large to fit on standard 4.7gb disks. Where exactly did you hear that from? because I really can't think of any other reason why its doing this, so thats probably correct.
     
  6. iamssgoku

    iamssgoku Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    are you sure about that? have you burned a copy of mgs3?
     
  7. HeyYoWL

    HeyYoWL Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I heard it from reading stuff here and on other forums.
     
  8. ffonlly

    ffonlly Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    back up works fine. mgs 3 is standard dvd 5. try using ritek dvd-r go4 media. burn with dvdecrypter. there is no protection on this game. i have flip top and swapmagic.
     
  9. LiquidusX

    LiquidusX Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    mgs3 is not dual layered. i copied my mgs3 with alcohol 120%. it works perfectly fine
     
  10. johnstar

    johnstar Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have had MGS3 for a few months, although its a japanese version it works fine on a Ritek GO5 disc using DVD Decrypter, the game seems to be very detailed so i reckon its probably at least 4GB
     

Share This Page