1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Plexy 708A DVD burn errors

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by yanksno1, Aug 24, 2004.

  1. yanksno1

    yanksno1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi All,

    Within the last week I've started to get DVD burn errors when trying to burn a DVD disc through Nero. I recently reformatted my PC and am still getting the errors. I can burn CD-R discs, but not DVDs. I'm using a Plextor 708A with the latest version of Nero. I upgraded the latest firmware for the Plextor drive and that still didn't help. Here is a copy of my log to look at if that will help at all.

    http://www.the25th-hour.com/Log.txt

    Do you guys have any suggestions? I'd greatly appreciate your help. Thanks a bunch.

    Zach
     
  2. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Hi,

    I noticed from you log that DMA was off for your 708 which isn't a good thing and probably the cause of your failed burns.

    If your drive isn't in DMA transfer mode your burner can'r be fed data fast enough to keep up a consistent burn. CDs are far less demanding which is probably why they're working and DVDs aren't.

    Try this link to get DMA working:

    http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/device/storage/IDE-DMA.mspx

    If that doesn't help try uninstalling the drive through Device Manager following these steps:

    Go to Device Manager >

    Expand the tree for DVD/CD ROM Drives >

    Find the drive in question, right click it and go to Properties >

    Under the Driver tab, select Uninstall then OK.

    Now reboot and Windows should detect and reinstall the drive.

    If that doesn't work try the same steps as above but uninstall the IDE controller that your drive is on instead of just the drive itself :)

     
  3. yanksno1

    yanksno1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi,

    I checked the DMA status of my drive and noticed it was on. I then selected the other option and then changed it back to see if that worked. I then uninstalled the drive to see if that would work but I am still getting an error.

    Here is an update of the log. I'm not sure if it's different at all. http://www.the25th-hour.com/Log2.txt

    Do you have any other suggestions? Thanks.

    Zach
     
  4. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Looks like it may be a problem with the media you're using. What brand/type have you been using?
     
  5. yanksno1

    yanksno1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The media did work before I started having this problem. I just tried using Memorex media (which I know has worked w/o any problems) and I still get this problem. Here is an updated log for you to look at. http://www.the25th-hour.com/Log3.txt Any other suggestions? I appreciate the help. Thanks.

    Zach
     

Share This Page