1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PLS HELP. Reformated and now encoding is slower

Discussion in 'Convert DVD to another format' started by fo20, Nov 19, 2004.

  1. fo20

    fo20 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i had to reformat about a week ago. before i reformated, i was encoding dvds to burn at around 4000kb+. but now that i have reformated, it wont go above 1500kb. it used to take only 30-45 mins to decode the dvd, but now its like an 1 hour and a half atleast. can anyone have a clue to what might be cuasing this? is it a missing codec or firmware i might have had before. i dont remember ever dling anything special before i reformated to make it go faster. im using a pioneer dvdrom 116r from a old sony viao.
     
  2. SuzukiBlu

    SuzukiBlu Guest

    Try checking your encoder's priority, it might be set at low. Also check to see if you dont have too many processes taking up CPU or Memory usage. Also try updating firmware and doing a Nero drive check.
     
  3. fo20

    fo20 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    on my dvd player and burner, they seem to be at the same speed. i have no clue whats going on lol. is there anything i can do in windows to see their speeds and change them or anything?
     
  4. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    check your IDE settings.
     
  5. fo20

    fo20 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    my first primary IDE is set on DMA transfering, while my 2ndary IDE is set for PIO only. If i set the 2nd one to DMA, it still says its transfer-mode is PIO only. the 1st primary though has a 2nd spot available for another device.
     
  6. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    No ... keep them on your secondary channel

    Uninstall your secondary channel, reboot and let your O/S reinstall. Recheck to make sure transfer mode on secondary channel is set to DMA
     
  7. fo20

    fo20 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    alright, ill try it. also, after i had reformated, i unplugged alot of stuff from my mobo, to clean it up. i know how to set everything up, but maybe i put the dvd-roms on the wrong cord maybe... since both the player and burner seem to both be at the same speeds but they shouldnt be.
     
  8. fo20

    fo20 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok, did that, got the first device on the 2ndary IDE set on DMA now, but the 2nd decive on it is still PIO only. not sure if it wants to change hehe. but it worked. now im ripping at 5000kb instead of a stupid 1,500kb. thanks man, u deserve an apple :D::D:D:D:D:D
    i believe my dvd-rw is the one set on PIO only now. is that bad?
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2004
  9. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Yes, then you will get slow burns.

    Also, you really should have your dvd burner your master drive and the dvd rom the slave. Also, make sure your jumpers are set correctly.

    Last, you might want to get a new 80 pin cable.
     
  10. fo20

    fo20 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hehe ,owell. ill check those out after work. right now it only takes it like 15 mins though to burn the 4gb iso's at 4x. Havnt tried burning it at higher speeds, mostly cuase i buy the cheap 4x top speed dvd+r.
    working at a movie rental place makes a dvd burner very good :D
     
  11. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    very odd, because your burn times is about what it should be if it's in DMA.
     
  12. fo20

    fo20 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok, ya, the burning was longer, but i got everything fixed up. had to switch the cables between my hd and dvd-roms. now everything is back up to running on DMA.
    now back to my ripping of mass movies :D
    thx for all the help FLIP.
     
  13. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I would definitly get another 80 pin cable. Is your HD still running in DMA mode?
     
  14. fo20

    fo20 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ya, everything is, harddrive is on dma ultra 5, while the 2 roms are at dma ultra 4.
     
  15. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    well heck ... if it ain't broke don't fix it :)
     

Share This Page