1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pop-ups during Shrink/Nero

Discussion in 'DVD±R for advanced users' started by GatlinGun, Mar 1, 2005.

  1. GatlinGun

    GatlinGun Regular member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hello...At the beginning of Shrink/Nero I get a small box pop-up saying:

    Set Display Frequency...

    Failed To Set Display At 72Hz...

    I just X it out. The recording is good in both formats. Anyone know what this message is and why? Thanks!!
     
  2. GatlinGun

    GatlinGun Regular member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Anyone!!
     
  3. Jerry746

    Jerry746 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    It sounds like it wants you to set your display frequency to 72hz. To do so you need to go to control panel> display> settings> advanced> monitor> then screen refresh rate dropdown and pick 72hz.
    What I don't know is why it is telling you to do this. It must have something to do with your display and system combination. Remember the original setting so you can switch back if necessary.

    Jerry
     
  4. GatlinGun

    GatlinGun Regular member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Jerry, when I followed your instructions, the drop down box opened up to 70Hz &75Hz. Which one should I use? Thanks!!
     
  5. Jerry746

    Jerry746 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Well I'm just guessing at 70, but since you are getting an error about it not being at 72 you still may get the error. What was the original setting at? Mine is 60hz(USA) but did show a 72 in the drop down. What type monitor are you using? CRT or LCD screen? Just wondering why you don't have the 72hz setting.

    Jerry
     
  6. babelfish

    babelfish Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    if using a crt (normal monitor) dont use below 70Hz as it fries your eyeballs (60 Hz is BBBBBAAAAADDDD man!)

    doesnt matter with TFT/LCD tho...

    ideally you want above 75Hz so stop eye problems
     
  7. Jerry746

    Jerry746 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Mine has probably been at 60hz forever. I never had to check that setting and haven't had any problems. I'll play with the settings tonight to see if it makes any difference. My eyes are still in their sockets.LOL

    Jerry
     
  8. GatlinGun

    GatlinGun Regular member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I use a MAG 19' Innovision LCD. I can't remember what the original setting was. For the last couple of days, so-far-so-good.
     

Share This Page