1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Port Forwarding - Azureus

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by burrows, Apr 24, 2007.

  1. burrows

    burrows Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi,

    I know its a common question, but ive seemed to have tried everything and read most posts on it and referred to www.portforwarding.com site, but not fully understanding it.

    Setup:

    Desktop PC
    Laptop (wireless)

    Zoom ADSL X3 modem
    Linksys BEFW11S4 v4
    Windows XP Firewall

    ISP - Plusnet

    With having a seperate adsl modem to router do I have to forward the port in the modem and router?

    I have set it in XP Firewall, router and modem but still fails? What could be causing this?

    Ive included screen grabs of all the screens that have the relevant info:


    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Set for tcp and udp

    [​IMG]
    Message in Azureus when trying port.
    [​IMG]
    Linksys Router Screen

    [​IMG]
    ADSL Modem Screen

    I have set it for forwarding in the router only and still no joy.

    Do I need to forward my external IP, the one that gets tracked on websites etc?

    Any help will be appreciated,

    Thanks,

    Gareth
     
  2. TY4ever

    TY4ever Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi!I'm just stopping here to read about your problem but unfortunately i can't be of any help.But one thing that i've noticed is that in your post,you have let your ip known to everyone,that's a bad idea.That's the kind of thing you should protect at all cost from anyone,because if some crazy ass gets that and knows pc hacking very well,you'll be in a real problem.It's like you showing your credit card number together with its password.

    Just my two cents.I hope someone will come to your rescue about that port-forwarding problem you're getting.


    Vincent.
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2007
  3. The_Fiend

    The_Fiend Guest

    @ TY4ever : the moment he resets his modem or resets his router, his IP will change, so he needn't worry.

    @ Burrows : have you perhaps turned on UPnP in Azureus ?
    If so, turn it off, and see if that changes anything.
    From a quick glance, everything looks like it's setup right, so other than UPnP interfering, i can't really think of anything.
     
  4. burrows

    burrows Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hmmmm UPnP was enabled, disabled it and still the same problem.

    When I tried it all the other week I was getting green faces in Azureus but not all the time, and still seems very rare for people to connect to me.

    When I tested the connection the first time I got a green face it came up you have fixed your nat problem, tried it 5 minutes later and got the error message!

    Maybe its the ISP?

    I am changing over to another ISP later this week so maybe try it then.

    Also does it matter what ADSL modem is used?

    Thanks

    Gaz
     
  5. burrows

    burrows Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi,

    Had a fiddle round this mornin and tried every possible setting even reset modem and router to factory and started over.

    I eventually thought, back to basics and disconnected the Linksys Router so just had my Zoom ADSL modem connected.

    Tried Azureus and still no good, so forwarded port TCP 49154 that im using on my main pc in Zoom Virtual Server software and it worked!!!

    What ive noticed is the IP for the router and modem are different ie:

    Zoom 10.0.0.2
    Linksys 192.168.1.1

    When forwarding on the Linksys you can only put in the last 3 digits on the ip 192.168.1._ _ _

    What ever your pc's ip is, but on the zoom modem software, you can put in which ever ip you want. Ive tried everything but when the two are connected I cant forward ports.

    Has anyone else got the same setup as me? if so do you have trouble forwarding ports?

    Think I might get an all in one!!

    Gaz
     
  6. Tearflop

    Tearflop Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I just got fios installed...I was always able to get green faces with azureus using my linksys router.. Now that I have verizon with the Actiontec MI424wr Modem/router,,,I keep getting the famous NAT ERROR. Is there a way to get this thing working or am I screwed.. any help please.

    Thanks

    Tearflop
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2007
  7. burrows

    burrows Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Got my working finally.

    Reset both modem and router to factory.
    Forward Azureus port in XP Firewall
    Set static IP in TCP/IP settings (ip for router) 192.168.1.101
    Forward my Azureus Port 49155 on router to 192.168.1.101
    Set router on static Ip to communicate to modem 10.0.0.4
    Forward Azureus Port on Modem to 10.0.0.4

    Hey presto all worked, then did the same for other pc with a different port and IP and all works well.

    Changing IP this week so gotta do it all again, joy!!

    Have you tried Port Forward ?

    Gaz

    Gaz
     
  8. Tearflop

    Tearflop Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    burrows what type of router are you using...

    Tearflop
     
  9. burrows

    burrows Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The Router is a: Linksys BEFW11S4

    Gaz
     

Share This Page