1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

port forwarding/static ip address?????

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by jk7378, Feb 3, 2007.

1. jk7378

jk7378 Guest

hi all, can anyone tellme how i forward ports and make a static ip address? i am attempting to download torrents and im using azureus but its saying i have a nat problem which i have tried to solve to no success i am at my witts end! is there an EASY way to do this as im fairly new to all this. i have a laptop with a belkin routerand my isp is blueyonder.

2. MysticE

MysticE Active member

3. mistycat

mistycat Active member

This is kinda the wrong forum for this; the origonal thread would return more replies I would think. Now, where are you getting hung up? I'll assume you got the info at ipconfig/all and it's at Network Connections in Control Panel. You will see several items there but only one is your internet connection and that's the one you need. Open one, click disable, close the window and try to browse. Go back and reenable that one and do this for each entry in Network Connections until you disable one that won't open any window to browse. That's the one you want, reenable it and click Properties and then Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) then Properties and untick "obtain ip address automatically" and "obtain dns servers automatically" and tick "use this ip address" and "use the following dns server address" and enter the information you got at ipconfig/all and ok out and you're done with the static address. The only thing to watch for is if your dns servers have the the same address as Default Gateway at ipconfig/all and then you would either have to get them through your router or ISP first. I also agree about utorrent, much more newbie friendly.

4. MysticE

MysticE Active member

From ĀµTorrent's site:

Setting up a static IP