1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Possible Virus - PC acting VERY strange.

Discussion in 'Windows - Virus and spyware problems' started by ketsuhige, Apr 27, 2011.

1. ketsuhige

ketsuhige Member

First of all, I'm not very good with computers so please bear with me.

About a month ago, my PC restarted for no apparent reason. I then noticed that so many things have changed dramatically. There's too many to list, so I'll just mention the ones that stick out the most:

+ Appearance changed: it went back to windows classic (from the original Vista appearance). I was able to change it back to Vista.
    + Statup programs have all disappeared and won't come back. I tried so many times to have start-up programs reappear, but it just won't work. Now when I click the "start" button, the part where programs used to appear (google chrome, MS Word, Firefox...etc) is completely blank.
    + When I try to make certain changes, then won't take effect. Ex: open programs of the same type get grouped together and I don't like that. I went and unchecked that feature, clicked apply, nothing happens. It still groups them together.
    + Default programs changed: windows media player (WMP) used to be my default media player. Now, for videos, Divx is my default media player, iTunes player is my default MP3 player, and any other type that used to be assigned to WMP is now an unrecognizable file. I try to pick WMP as my default player several times, using various options, the change just won't take effect.
    + Recycle Bin is ALWAYS empty: if I delete a file, it won't go to the waste basket first; it gets automatically and permanently deleted from my PC.

I'm sure there are more issues that I haven't discovered yet, but this is enough to really piss me off.