1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Possibly bricked lite-on drive?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by v4m055, May 5, 2012.

  1. v4m055

    v4m055 Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hello Everyone

    I seem to be having a problem with my lite-on drive (83850C v1). My friend purchased it pre-flashed with the old ixtreme on it. So we have the key and everything for it already. We then decided to flash it to the latest ixtreme LT+ v3. But for some reason we couldn't go back to stock firmware in order to update the dashboard. Actually I think we did but we kept getting a dashboard update error. We then decided to flash it to the latest ixtreme LT+ v3 and then try to update the dashboard offline manually.

    We updated to the latest dashboard (2.0.14719.0) but this took the drive back to stock firmware. So we attempted to flash it back to ixtreme LT+ 3.0 but we could not get the drive into vendor mode. We did a lite-on erase in jungleflasher and the drive is now stuck on status 0x7F and does not seem to change to 0x72 at all. I have power cycled it between the erase but this has not worked. It keeps saying device intro failed.

    I have tried intro/device id but this fails too and also outro/ata reset fails aswell. The drive is now blank and cannot be ejected. I read on the internet somewhere that if you flash before updating to the latest firmware it changes the drive somehow locking it? Is this true? I have also tried l-o-eras in dosflash 1.7 but this returns status FF7F and the drive is not recognised in windows or in dosflash. Is there anything I can do to change this?

    I am using jungeflasher 0.1.92 beta with one of the first ck3 probe's which only supports serial but has a serial to usb connection. Is it really possible to brick the unbrickable drive??
     
  2. JST1946

    JST1946 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    26
  3. user473

    user473 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    you didnt brick it ...if you have the firmware then you are fine ...the phat drive is not locked by updates ...when you updated to new driv it changed the firmware to 0225 something or other .load up the orig.bin ,then the new lt (post update 02251 or something )spoof ..ok then lite on erase ...follow directions.when it says to power off then power on ,only do that once ...then click write ...make sure when using jungle flasher you right click on it and click run as administrator...
     
  4. user473

    user473 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    you didnt brick it ...if you have the firmware then you are fine ...the phat drive is not locked by updates ...when you updated to new driv it changed the firmware to 0225 something or other .load up the orig.bin ,then the new lt (post update 02251 or something )spoof ..ok then lite on erase ...follow directions.when it says to power off then power on ,only do that once ...then click write ...make sure when using jungle flasher you right click on it and click run as administrator...
     
  5. v4m055

    v4m055 Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I've tried this, but i cant get past status 0x7F.
     
  6. user473

    user473 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    are you using the via 6421 sats card?if so make sure the drivers are properly deleted
     
  7. Modking30

    Modking30 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    are you using a via chipset? You could try dosflash to send and re-erase
     
  8. RIARA

    RIARA Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
  9. v4m055

    v4m055 Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm using my motherboards onboard chipset (intel z68). Tried dosflash already, doesnt recognise drive and won't l-o-erase. Gives status FF7F.
     
  10. user473

    user473 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i would try to invest in a via 6421 sata card on newegg dot com,,,theres no reason y you cant flash.or you can buy a new lite on replacement drive since you have your dummy .bin
     
  11. Modking30

    Modking30 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    that is your first issue. You NEED to use a VIA chipset. Or in my case I use the lizard.
     

Share This Page